Meet Teddy! in Tales from a Rabbit Breeder

  • Feb. 22, 2020, 8:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So yesterday i went out of town and bought a chinchilla buck. He is supposed to be french and german hybrid ( ideal) But as i get him i realize hes satin ( NOT IDEAL) Shoot. So now i have TWO shiny chinchilla bucks… Teddybear and Rooster roo.

Anyway, Hubby finished my wonderful new hutch. Hes got a second one half way done in the time i did my errands today. hes going to finish it tomorrow for Jack. Then both boys will be outside in big hutches. They are 26 X 50 inches. With enough room for me to put a box in each one so they have a shelf and extra floor space. For reference, teddy should be a 10 lb rabbit. hes not. But he will be.

Teddy came to me and i kinda had a heart sinking moment. Aside from him being a ratted mess which i get, it happens. the kid was allergic and didnt take good enough care. I shaved off his mats. Teddy also has wool mites. A parasite that eats on the wool shaft and poop looks like sticky dander. Its common in english. Not so much in other mixes. So i treated for that. But what really got me was how skinny he is. I kinda cried because his back is triangluar. A sign of worms. So he was wormed as well. Hes underweight for his size and is currently on a bulk up diet. IE over fed until he fattens up. His nails were so long, I took over half an inch off each nail. Which is a LOT on a rabbit. They were over an inch long overall. I didnt want to take them too close to the quick. I was afraid with them being so long he would have feet issues. He wasnt hopping much but after i got his nails done he started hopping. I think his feet hurt.

He is the second bun ive gotten here that has been in poorly shape. Clover being the first. So frustrating because i get that nails are “scary” They have a blood vein in them ( the quick) and if you cut it, they will bleed. Clot it with flour and pressure and hes fine. It happens. So no excuses. They dont like it? Tough. Flip them on their backs, pin their ears with your knees. Put on your big girl panties and do your rabbits nails. and rabbit, Put on your big bun panties. Its getting done lol. I did 3 buns nails today :P

ANYWAY, Hes a sweet heart and is very kind. Comes right to the front of the pen for lovings. Over all im happy. But im not sure what im going to do with him for breeding lol. I need to fill him in, bulk him up and see how it goes.

alt text

alt text


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.