friendships and opinions. in crawling into 2014.

  • March 18, 2014, 5:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I get totally thrown by the voiced thoughts of people I thought were friends. It happened on friday and threw me into a state of slumpedge.

I was in the kitchen at toy library and I said something that reminded one of the ladies about a catch phrase of an old game show host called Michael Barrymore.

Unfortunately for Mr Barrymore, he was involved in a party that included drug taking and the death of a guest in a drowning in the swimming pool - the tv stations didn't want to be tainted by this sort of thing and he was dropped faster than a cupcake full of scorpions.

So - one of my toy library compatriots said "wasn't there some kind of scandal with him?" She looked pensively for a second "was it because he was gay?"

"being gay isn't a crime you know, it isn't illegal!" I said.

To which she replied with this stunner:

"But what about the little boys," she screwed up her nose "you know, fiddling and things."

There have been times in my life in which I've been struck dumb. This was not one of them.

"being gay and being a pedophile are completely different things!!!" I retorted.

She gave me a patronising look and moved on.

I still haven't quite got over it.

Seriously, it's the twenty first century!! Can we get beyond these ridiculous conceptions!!!


Life Is For Living March 18, 2014

Isn't it awful? The small-minded people that still associate being gay with being a pedophile. Or being gay as the only way to get Aids. Or if you are gay, you will obviously constantly hit on your same sex friends ::eye roll:: It frustrates me to no end! I am glad you said something. You'd be surprised how many don't!

BTW, I remember watching Michael Barrymore on Celebrity Big Brother ^_^

Domino March 18, 2014

Surely she was muddling him up with one of the operation Yew Tree people and him being gay was just a coincidence? Or do you remember Matthew Kelly got accused of molesting a little boy about the same time as the Barrymore scandal, he was proven innocent in the end, perhaps she was thinking of him? (I know he wasn't gay even though he was camper than a row of tents but people thought he was.)

Probably clutching at straws but I can't believe anyone would think that, I mean I know some do but my explanation makes for a friendlier world and I'm hoping that it was a misunderstanding.

Darcy0207 from OD March 18, 2014

Putin, before the Olympics, said the gays are welcome, but to be extra careful around children. So it's a common (pun intended) concept.

My gay 6th grade teacher demanded all the little girls kiss him good-bye on the last day of school. Otherwise he wouldn't give us our report cards. I knew the school I was going to ... and the class... and had a good idea of my grades. I told him he could keep the report card.

thesunnyabyss March 18, 2014

oh that is just sad for her,

thesunnyabyss March 18, 2014

I mean to be that closed minded in this day and age,

Thank you for trying.

Daisy Mae March 18, 2014

Jeez that is just so ignorant. Glad you put her in her place though.

edna million March 18, 2014

It is shocking how many people seem to think like that. How sad.

Deleted user March 18, 2014

My dad use to leave me with an openly gay couple when I was 6-9. They never touched me, when I was older and there was more paedophilia awareness, my father told me I was safer with them then most scout matters.

Deleted user March 19, 2014

Jesus. Really. I don't even know what to say. abrazos

~Twinkle~ March 19, 2014

:(

Deleted user March 19, 2014

Good grief! Glad you told her what's what.

Deleted user March 21, 2014

Good for you pointing out the difference! Sadly there are way too many ignorant people out there ...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.