Found something new. in A small but passable life.

  • Jan. 31, 2020, 1:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished reading “Hate Inc.: Why Today’s Media Makes Us Despise One Another” by Matt Taibbi. A very informative read. And I agree with his point that it may be too late to put the genie back in the bottle. The genie being a shitstorm of chaos in the realm of meaningful dialog in human society.

But then I stumbled across something new. I watched a conversation between Joe Rogan and Daryl Davis on youtube. I’d heard the name and a little of the story about Mr. Davis but never had went any further to learn more. And now I will. Anyway during the discussion Mr. Davis had mentioned a website, minds.com, that I’d never heard of. So now I’m thinking it may be worth exploring. Something new. Maybe something worthwhile. We’ll see.

I’ll be happy when NPR returns to regular programming.

Perusing in a Goodwill the other day I found a real nice Faux leather zippered portfolio that holds a legal-sized pad and pen. It will do a much nicer job of keeping things together than the plastic clipboard I’ve been using.

I found the replacement battery for the $40 Chinese ZTE smartphone on Amazon for $10. I put it on the wish list. I may buy two.

Anyway, I’ve got a new Stephen King to read.


woman in the moon January 31, 2020

Did you read King's The Outsider? It's coming to tv. I read a review in New York.
I don't read King or watch tv so you're my only hope. https://www.hbo.com/the-outsider

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ February 02, 2020

I've read everything he's written. I read the stories as stories, not something to critique. But I will say that this book is not a stand-alone book. Characters and common plots are woven through his entire bibliography. The hero of this book was also in Mr. Mercedes. Miss Holly Gibney.

Jinn February 01, 2020

Goodwill is my weakness but it saves so much money . :-) In fact I was there today .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.