You win some, you lose some. in The start of something?

  • Sept. 8, 2013, 4:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So you may know that Australia held elections yesterday and unfortunately the liberal party got in.

I'm really not much into politics but I CANT STAND Tony Abbott. The number one reason I don't like him has nothing to do with party politics or policies. I just think the guy is an embarrassment and can't string two words together.

It's a joke that he's going to be representing out country.

All I can hope is that the party will knock him down from his leadership role and we can have someone else as Prime Minister.

My kids are both into the election. This is the first time my daughter voted and my son, being weeks away from turning 18, was not able to. He was very upset about that. They had researched and were labour all the way. They said their friends were all labour and they thought it was going to go labour, despite what the polls and papers were saying. I must admit, my newsfeed was full of people bashing Abbott and warning everyone else to vote labour.... and yet it was a landslide to the Liberals and Abbott. It was interesting to watch these events unfold though their young innocent eyes. My daughter was upset. She'd cast her vote and she was feeling like she hadn't made a difference at all. Unfortunately that's the way it is. Win some, you lose some but she is ahead of the game if she stays informed. I think... I hate to kill that youthful exhuberance.

Enough of that.

I feel like this year is going so fast. I hate going to work at that place, but I also hate wishing the hours away... While I look forward to my knock off time, I don't want to feel like I've wasted the hours inbetween. They're part of my life which is coming to an end (as is all of ours eventually) and I hate the thought of wasting them.

Speaking of gtetting older.... It's often noted that older people can be angry and crabby etc. It's a stereotype I know, but I was thinking about this the other day and I think part of it is because their bodies just don't work like they use to. Iknow that I get angry when I can't hear something, or can't see something as well as I use to be able to. I get angry when I have to bend over to do something and my shoulder or back hurts... Angry is probably not the right word but I think you get my meaning. Life is so previous and health even more so. In the grand scheme of things we're given little time and sometimes I find myself wishing for more and other times I find myself looking forward to when I don't have to think anymore.


whowhatwhere September 08, 2013

Sometimes I think the voting booths are rigged.... looks around

I need tea. September 09, 2013

Daisy Mae September 09, 2013

I too get cross when I cannot do so well the things I thought nothing of when I was younger - I dislike having to ask people to repeat what they say, walk down steps one at a time and feel in so much pain when I stand up from sitting down - its easy to get crabby when you feel that way.

ElvenAssassin September 10, 2013

I heard that the reason older people stop having a word filter is a chemical inbalance in our brains as we age? But that's a good reason to be crabby and impatient all the time, true.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.