Depths of my heart in God, With Skin On

  • Jan. 24, 2020, 9:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whoever said being a Christian was easy and only for the weak is wrong. Add to that being a pastor and life really gets tough. Some days I feel like I am spinning out of control. There are days when the bad outweighs the good. And then those inevitable “Why God” days, or weeks, or months.
I have doubts. Can I prove God exists? No more than you can prove He doesn’t. Why do good things happen to bad people and bad things happen to good people? I can give you the theological answer, but it doesn’t really help much. We all tend to blame our problems on someone or something else.
I was born this way, God created me this way, or whatever excuse you want to use that makes you feel better about your self. I am realist and I know many of the problems I face or my own doings. Choices have consequences. And not to make a choice is still making a choice.
I received word again this morning that a friend has cancer. I am so sick of hearing this. Why doesn’t God either stop it or give the human race a cure for it? Is that too much to ask?
And it is days like this that I want to just pull the covers up to my neck and just stay in bed.

Just call me Doubting Thomas


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.