The Prodigal Rolling Pin in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 18, 2020, 8:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So here I am five days out from the fall and still very much dealing with the injury. It is way better. The intense overwhelming pain is gone, at least mostly. I felt a touch of it this morning when Most Honorable found a parking spot a block away from the library and I got out of the car and walked down to drop off my books that were due back. He offered to do that, but no I was stubborn. La la la, no problem.

After the library he took me to the grocery store and I actually let him bend down and get things off the bottom shelf for me. I was chuffed because I could push the cart with out pain and he was chuffed because my grocery had the ultra soft tissue they like.

We figured out a way to replace the straps on his snowshoes and made a tentative date to (just the two of us) go up to the mountain and try snowshoeing on groomed trails so I can practice before I try a group outing. We learned a lot about the mechanics of snowshoes there in our brief exploration.

I am so darn proud and independent it was hard for me to accept his offer to come up and be helpful today.

And yes, I ordered a stepladder with nonslip rails just like the doctor suggested and I had him take the mixing bowls down from on top of the cupboards.

I also asked if he were willing to look a couple more places for the missing rolling pin. I found the missing big blade for my food processor a couple of days ago. He found the culprit in the first place he looked!

Otherwise I have been resting and reading and listening to podcasts and doing my chores very gingerly.

Besides my continuing gratitude about not having been hurt worse than I was, and gratitude for my family that have been so supportive I am grateful I am no longer working so I didn’t need to make the agonizing decision about working when it hurts.

Monday is a holiday here and the church will be closed. I can sit cross legged on the floor now so if all goes well I will be able to return to regularly scheduled programing by next Wednesday.

Oh the things we take for granted!


woman in the moon January 18, 2020

Your creek looks a little like mine.
Glad you're better and glad you're not using the top of the cupboards for storage and glad you'll have a railed stepladder. Does it have wheels and then you step on it, it goes down to the floor and won't roll anymore? We had a tall one like that in the ink storage room at my old old job. Worked very well.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ January 19, 2020 (edited January 19, 2020)

Edited

No wheels but that is a great idea. This one I think is built specifically for kitchens but I am going to use it for closet decluttering as well.

woman in the moon January 18, 2020

Where was the rolling pin?

noko woman in the moon ⋅ January 19, 2020

Way back in in a lower cabinet next to the sink.

woman in the moon January 18, 2020

And whatcha gonna roll?

noko woman in the moon ⋅ January 19, 2020

Lemon cookies.

woman in the moon January 18, 2020

And talking devices, does your rolling pin have ball bearings to it rolls independent of the handles? Mine does I think.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ January 19, 2020

Yes. It is old, it may have belonged to one of my parents. It is a beauty.

janeanger January 20, 2020

I'm glad to hear things are coming back to normal and you're feeling better.

Jinn January 21, 2020

I learned all this the hard way . :-( . I am so glad you are healing and ordered that step stool !

Marg January 25, 2020

It’s hard to accept help sometimes when we’re so used to being independent! I’m glad it was such a positive experience for you :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.