Farm fresh in Tales from the Spinning Siren

  • Jan. 16, 2020, 1:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So the sheeps wool i was washing and carding a few days ago is on Starling (my wheel) Its actually a lot softer then i anticipated. Im enjoying the spin. Im kinda not trying to make it perfect and letting it spin with some of its neps and cottonballs. Im going to ply it back on itself and after i finish the wool im going to do the alpaca too. Trying to spin through my stash and justify spending 40 bucks on 8 oz of colored wool… I could buy a lb for under 30… But then i have to go buy dyes and pots too. So im like arrggghhh. I have to start over on THIS TOO!!

Or i just spend a lot of time spinning the natural fibers i was gifted and work on some natural colors too.
Man, i gotta start listing things in my etsy again and hope i can sell a few items. I cant hang onto all of this stash too lol! I love people to enjoy using them too.

for now. here is a photo of my very dirty wheel. The sheeps wool has a bunch of veggie matter ( like little specks of dirt and hay ) most fall out when spin :) But Starling is taking a dirty beating haha. Something is getting a blow out with the buns tomorrow!

alt text


ODSago January 16, 2020

I've never read about or known anyone who is working with wool like this so was interested in reading your entry. Especially I have a coverlet that my grandmother made from their sheep...I'm 78.5 and she made it sometime after my mom left home in 1935 or so. It's always been kept in a trunk and never used by either my mom or me. Blue and white. Would be cover for a single bed or small double I guess. Pretty in a practical way. I hope your work survives that long and is used by someone who knows you and really appreciates it.

ChainedChrysalis ODSago ⋅ January 16, 2020

Please feel free to check out the chapter Spinning Siren! I post lots of photos and tidbits about my craft! I love spinning :)
Your blanket could be lovely as a throw on the back of a couch or comfy chair.
Often times i dye or buy colored wool so its more suitable for hats or scarves.
I also raise angoras and spin their wool :) It makes perfect headbands, hats, gloves and scarves. Things that are very delicate but extremely warm. Each wool has different properties and the style of spinning is what makes it suitable for different items.
I have both a manual wheel and an electric. I have an autoimmune disorder and when i flare up i have a hard time operating my manual wheel. Plus i just moved cross country so most of my things are in storage.

Jinn January 16, 2020

I have never seen a wheel before !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.