One of those (good) days in Life

  • Jan. 11, 2020, 8:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ahh it’s one of those days, where the rain outside is coming down lightly casting a light mist over the horizon, cars are whizzing by splashing water about as they fade into the obscurity of their daily chores that lie (?) around the next corner and out of sight.

One of those days where there’s enough light from the over cast clouds that we don’t need lights on to do what we want to do with the momentary silence of naptime. It’s a peace that neither of us have gotten much of lately. It’s a good time to sit down and really bang out a solid entry.

So let me catch you up.

Operation Parliament Hill is a go. For like… 3 weeks from now.

So we’re moving to Ottawa. Which is terrifying. Much less terrifying as we get closer to the date and my need to organize over rides my feelings of anxiety. Or realistically it’s more like they’re getting married as one accepts the other and they just blend into this fury of to-do lists and packing boxes. When we first found out it was going to happen there was mixed feelings. We really like where we live now, we have a nice apartment at a reasonable price in a market that doesn’t allow for a lot of reason. The London market is insane right now and it’s to the point where my friends who are in very successful careers are looking at roommates because there’s no way for them to achieve a reasonable standard of living on their own. To give you an example, we pay 1325+ for a 2 bedroom and it’s about 1100sq ft.

My friend is looking at a 1 bedroom in the same neighbourhood for 1400+ utilities. and around 300 less sq ft. The market is insane and not sustainable for the average person. My friend that I’m talking about is probably making around 70k if I had to guess. I, the average -non secondary schooled- male, can dream of making 40k, one day. Realistically it’s around 30k. I don’t know how people are expected to survive but as the problem grows, people are going to have to realize that you can’t fill what we can’t afford… right? Right???

So we’re outta this place! Off to Ottawa where we pay a little bit more for a much higher standard of living.

But looking back, before my segway into the housing market, mixed feelings!

When I first found out that it was all a go, after around 23 (that’s not an exaggeration) rounds of interviews and forms for Pam-Marie to get her job lined up, I was… Lost. I knew what Ottawa meant for her, it’s a great career opportunity where the glass ceiling doesn’t exist. I knew what it meant for Elly, She gets to be around a loving family that constantly wants to be around (Something I’m sure to struggle with haha.. ha…ahhh) but what did it mean for me? Where did I fit into all of this other than someone who was riding the coat-tails of someone elses success? I get that as a married man, her success is my success, but it’s so rare that we get an opportunity to start over… or at least an opportunity that isn’t mared (sp?) by chaos of changes that are thurst upon us. This is one of those moment where there’s security in the change.

I have been facing a reality that I’ll probably go back into Culinary as that’s an easy fit and earning of cash. We only need to make around $1000 more a month to fit our budget so anything that I can make is going to be gravy, it might be part-time while we set our roots into the capital’s soil but… is there a future there for me? I guess that’s my biggest concern…

While for one side I’m thinking about Culinary, I’m really wondering what opportunities there are for me. But I want to look for opportunities, not wait for them to find me, and I’m not really sure about how to do that. Survival is key, and that’s at the front of my mind and I think that’s really going to over-ride everything until it’s… not?

I have a lot of questions right now. A lot. And there’s a lot that I can’t answer until we get up there and put everything in gear.

We spent the last 2 months being sick, as a family, and we’re just now getting over it so I have a lot of energy for change… But saying that in regards to this is like saying that I have a lot of energy for Astrodynamic Engineering (That’s a thing right?) All the energy, no effin’ clue what to do about it, or with it.

I can look for jobs online but it’s difficult to do so before we get a daycare. We gotta figure out how Pam is going to get to work, it’s close (Thankfully) but is it safe? Apparently the bridges are a death trap due to high volume of traffic. So we’ll see how that knot unties!

Alright, that’s all I got for now. I’m certain there will be more as this event progresses. I’m going to silently scream while I distract myself with chores now!


DE_KentuckyGirl January 11, 2020

I'm gonna say Congrats! That's a big change for sure, but sound a like a positive one, even if a bit scary.

DE_Da_Bartender DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ February 09, 2020

Thank you! Big Change, big growth. That's how I've always tried to look at these things, scary as they are.

SweetMelissa January 11, 2020

I read somewhere that moving - even for a good reason - is one of the top four stressers in life. It was grouped in with death of a loved one and divorce. So, the uncertainty is probably normal and very temporary stage for a change like this. Good luck/Bonne chance! Happy New Beginnings.

DE_Da_Bartender SweetMelissa ⋅ February 09, 2020

I've heard the same thing and that sort of knowledge is dangerous because you can use it to either recognize that there's a reason to be stressed or as an excuse to make yourself more stressed than you already are. Uncertainty has a sort of edge to it, it feels scary in that exciting sort of way.

Valued Customer January 17, 2020

Best of luck. Sometimes change is daunting. Hopefully this is one of those life changes that makes you say someday that you couldn't imagine a life if you hadn't made the choice to move.

DE_Da_Bartender Valued Customer ⋅ February 09, 2020

It's only been a week and I already feel that way. London seems so far away and distant like I couldn't imagine living anywhere but here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.