But Then Again... in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 10, 2020, 3:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is raining and foggy and dark dark dark out. I took this a few days back. These are daffodil shoots coming up under the oak leaves behind the fence at what I hope will me “my” community garden. The Parks Department is getting ready to make plot assignments shortly.

We show signs of spring absurdly early here and this is a good reminder that in each season, the seeds of the next become apparent.

Of course we have a big storm coming in, which is why I am typing this and am not getting ready to go snowshoeing. I was all geared up yesterday in all my snow stuff including gloves and practicing getting into and out of the snowshoe bindings and as I was steeping out of one, the plastic heel strap snapped at the inside join.

These were borrowed plastic snowshoes and had been out in Most Honorable’s garage for at least a few years. Apparently the plastic had become brittle. My first thought was thank goodness this didn’t happen two miles out on the trail. My second thought was Whew; I can prepare better and buy my own new snowshoes. This is something I am certain I will enjoy and I sold some stock I had accumulated in a dividend reinvestment plan over the years last week so I can splurge.

I am also going to get my hair trimmed and highlights… and a new shower curtain and an ice chest for the power outages that will inevitably come with climate change.

A few minutes after I extricated myself completely from the snowshoes and texted Mrs. Sherlock that it wasn’t safe for me to go with duct taped snowshoes an email came in saying weather conditions are not safe up on the mountain and we would not be going after all. So we are all going hiking locally in the rain instead.

It looks like we are going to have snow down here next week so if I can get to REI and get my snowshoes I might be able to practice right here. That would be super cool. Once I get the hang of it I think I will be much more relaxed about the whole thing.

Diego threw up his whole breakfast right after eating it this morning. This is the first time it has happened in weeks. The cat guy just has a super sensitive stomach and it is hard to know how to completely prevent this. I am feeding both cats different diets now and that gets darn complicated but the food this morning I thought was safe.

My carpets are a mess. One of my neighbors says I can get them replaced, which would be a big hassle but oh so worth it. But not until I can get Diego stabilized.

Kes is coming up tomorrow and we are going to shop and cook and prep for the storm. She got a new gadget, a cookie press; which we might try out. Very exciting. I will report back.

I had planned to go down to her place next Thursday but weather conditions may preclude that trip.

In spite of how sophisticated we may seem with all our tools and gadgets we are still animals and subject profoundly to weather patterns.

Boy are we learning that these days.


Last updated January 10, 2020


Jinn January 13, 2020

We got rid of carpet years ago and one reason we did was our cats . Of course I had five then ; so it was not practical to have dogs and cats with carpet :-) I do miss having warm floors but I like being able to clean better . I never felt the carpet could be completely clean.
Climate change is here. It’s hard to know how to prepare adequately :-( The threat of war concerns me too and I am sure there are things we all should be doing just in case of that too . One of my friends on FB posted a list and that kind of shook me :-(

Marg January 15, 2020

Oh that was excellent timing on the strap snap!
We can’t fight Mother Nature - she is very definitely reminding us of that these days!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.