But Wow in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 7, 2020, 9:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

New shoots! Crocus I think.

Not that my day yesterday was stressful or anything, it was pouring most of the day so it was a domestic one until the evening when I went to teach. We are focusing on our feet this week. I got myself all set up to log everything I am eating as if I were back in Weight Watchers and I made the sweet potato casserole, which is flavorful with ginger and orange zest and walnuts. Next time I would use half the butter though. I’ll make the cookies on Thursday.

I was a bit stiff and sore from the weight training on Sunday, as I have been prepping for the Body Pump class so I didn’t feel like a total wuss. I woke up this morning and I was like, nah, I don’t want to go, it is a big hassle and I am a little tired from the chores and teaching and…

Then I was saying as I was writing my 750 Words and doing my morning chores, it is so good for the brain to try new things and you used to go to the gym all the time and you will feel good after and it goes towards your goal of Community…

My clothes were all laid out, my backpack with my extra sneakers and t-shirt, lock and hand towel ready. I had my grocery bag in there so I could go shopping after (we now have an across the board plastic bag ban and you have to pay a nickel for each paper bag). I am going to an event tomorrow like a school lunch for old ladies where we all bring our own lunches, eat together and then go to a talk.

This talk is all about senior living options.

Telling myself the whole time I didn’t want to go, I grabbed my stuff and went. The traffic was horrid! I am like oh I will never make it on time, this is awful, I can go to my own gym yada yada yada.

The bus came, I got on. I got off at the appropriate stop and walked the ½ mile to the gym I used to go to when Mr. Finch was alive and where I took my very first yoga class that set me on the path I am on.

I asked pertinent questions at check in and was early enough. The class was actually in the studio I took all those yoga classes in, two, three times a week for a couple of years. It was full; the whole place was full, of memories. Wow. And a lot of super fit people. This part of town is more chic than mine.

I checked out who was in there and politely asked a woman sitting on a step bench if she could tell me what I needed to set up. She was wonderful! She knows the acquaintance from hiking club that told me about the class.

She used to teach these classes and knew exactly what a newbie needed and how to set up. She was just returning for some extensive shoulder surgery after an injury she sustained doing power yoga at home with a video.

Knowing how there is a dead zone in all classes right in front of the teacher I set up just there slightly off to the side and the woman that helped me told the teacher when she arrived that I was new.

She approved that I chose the lightest weights possible and kept an eye on me throughout the class. I was able to do almost everything but boy the areas that need work came into sharp relief. Hello triceps!

I enjoyed it. I will be quite sore tomorrow but not too sore.

Afterwards I had an annoying encounter with a young sales clerk at a store that sells athletic wear. I was going in to sign up again to be a “Fit Pro”. They give you a hefty discount if you are a brand ambassador. She told me I had to go home and sign up online and then come back in an offhand, I couldn’t give a shit way. If I didn’t like their products so much that would have been it for me.

I will do the whole thing again next week if I survive snowshoeing on Friday.

We have this thing here in Portland where there are hundreds and hundreds of well-fed crows that hang out downtown. I am serious; there are at least 500 of them. You can hear them at dawn and dusk near by or passing through but yesterday afternoon then stopped right here starting around 3PM. It was like this huge crazy crow party for the next hour and a half.

The cats were intrigued and restless but the incessant cawing was a bit much after awhile. They were in every tree and I noticed poop on my patio and the breezeway.

I need to wrap this up to go to the dentist. Fingers crossed the crows have not decided this is their new go to spot…Makes me a crow NIMBY… I know I know but wow.


Last updated January 08, 2020


ODSago January 08, 2020

I love all the activity you experienced in a day. My walking is a wait and see adventure so far...three to four each day. So far it rained one day and one evening it was too cool for me to walk. Otherwise all is going well. The crow story is amazing. Never that way here. You have earned following your bliss day by day -- I look forward to hearing more. Isn't it early for crocus plants there?

Marg January 08, 2020

That whole don’t wanna go thing is so familiar to me I have to admit and generally I’m glad to have made the effort!
Why couldn’t you have used a computer in the store to sign in if that’s all it was? It seems madness to make you go all the way home and back again for such a simple step!
I couldn’t help thinking of The Birds when you were describing the crows!

Jinn January 11, 2020

I like Crow’s but maybe not in such big numbers . I wonder what is attracting theM there ?
Spring does come early there ! Look at those bulbs sprouting !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.