One red stroke, one green stroke in Stuff

  • Jan. 7, 2020, 2:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just writing again because I’m at gym and decided to hop on the bike and do lazy exercises rather than the weights I should be doing. It’s been an interesting day.

I woke up this morning to a text from my mum saying that my Aunty Eileen woke up this morning and couldn’t move the right side of her body. Hemorrhagic stroke. She and my uncle live in Rubyvale in rural Queensland and had to be airlifted to Rockhampton via the RFDS (Royal Flying Doctor Service).
Mum was initially on her way out to Rubyvale (a huge-ass drive mind you) to grab a few things her sister would need, but I think she had to take a detour straight to Rocky because my uncle said to to call their kids to come up and say their goodbyes.
Eek!! Wtf? She’s on her death-bed!?
So I don’t know if my parents made it to Rubyvale. It doesn’t seem like it. They have since made it to Rocky and mum said that Eileen held her hand really tightly quite a few times and responded with mumbling when she spoke to her.
Mum said that Eileen never really took care of her health. She’s a diabetic, so they have hooked up a feeding tube through her nose and are administering her medication that way too.
Mum is saying she doesn’t have a good feeling though. Uncle Bob is excited at every single movement she makes and said she had the best response yet when my mum arrived.
But man, if they have called their kids up to say goodbye… geez. I was mentally preparing myself for another funeral this morning, and how Bob is saying the best case scenario is that she’ll be paralyzed on her right side. The family are taking shifts watching over her. The poor lady. To be totally fine this time yesterday to be potentially fighting for her life today. I’m sure I’ll get updates.
I’m not that close with Aunty Eileen these days, but when I was younger, I used to board with her and her family. She fed me every night, provided a room and even ironed my work shirts, all for $80 a week at the time. I used to go out clubbing every weekend and catch the first train home in the morning. That was my life for a while there. So I have a lot to thank her for.
I’ve had death on my mind a fair bit again lately. It’s just one of the parts of life I think about. I need to come to peace with it. I used to be scared of it, but I think as I’m getting older, I just have to see it as a part of life. We live, we die. Pretty shitty to (maybe) get taken out by a fucking stroke though.

In other (better) news, my sister-in-law and younger bro have had their scans done and it looks like Chisteena is finally getting the little girl she’s always wanted, to join the two boys they already have. My brother only wanted the two kids, but she talked him around. I don’t see why not. It’s not like he doesn’t earn a fortune working up in the north QLD mines.

It’s been opposite ends of the spectrum today, I tell ya what.

Anyway, I should probably do something productive since I’m here.


Last updated January 07, 2020


TL January 07, 2020

I hope she pulls through! Then learns to take care of her health :(

DE_nobelle January 07, 2020

Sorry to hear it <3 I lost my aunt in 2010 and it's changed my life in so many ways as she was my second mom. Hope Aunty Eileen is okay.

nthaniel January 07, 2020

Hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.