Winnowing in 2020

  • Jan. 6, 2020, 8:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I’m in the process of shedding a lot of extraneous brain flab that I’ve
allowed to accumulate thru the years. The “swirl” as I call it- that has no apparent purpose other than to torment me and make my life miserable. Ruminations and lamentations that are of little value. Neurotic self-critiques and angry finger-pointing. I’ve allowed my mind to become untamed and superfluous. What REALLY matters? Where do I want to invest my energy? Re-living all that can’t be undone or being present in the here and now? Do I want to wallow in the shadows of regret and shame or do I want to walk in sunlight? I’m feeling a “slow turning” (Thank you John Hiatt for that turn of phrase ) inside myself- a tightening and sharpening. A winnowing down to what is essential and important. Less time spent in self-recrimination and longing for things that will never be. And every so often I catch a glimpse in my mental mirror of a person that I may one day be proud of- a person who has walked many miles thru the darkness and has still retained his essential humanity and innate goodness.


Last updated January 06, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.