Smug in It's Art, You Wouldn't Understand

  • Jan. 4, 2020, 9:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I had a pretty good day yesterday. My phone died around 3 pm and I had ZERO motivation to charge it. The silence was fucking golden and I was knee-deep in Dragon Quest 11. Chu made burgers again for dinner and I scorched the hell out of my tongue. I blamed him for this, of course, and he said he had just taken them off the grill. I should have known better but don’t hand me a burning burger and NOT eat it. If you hand it to me I’m assuming its safe to eat, not that I have to wait 15 minutes for it to cool down. It’s my fault I know, but I couldn’t help teasing him a bit.

So I got sleepy after watching a movie and I headed upstairs for bed. I take my phone with me to charge for the night. I had no intention of turning it on but I needed some game cheats so I relented and surprise surprise I get a slew of text messages I’ve been ignoring. My mom, my sister (all normal) and one from Owl. I was kinda shocked, to be honest, and then I immediately started laughing. I just celebrated two days ago how it marked the year of us not talking anymore. A whole year! It was her choice to ignore me and I thank God she did because the relief I felt when she was out of my life was life-changing. I didn’t realize how draining it was being with her and how little we actually had in common. Sure, we had a lot of great times but after her and husband’s last meeting with Chu I know I made the right choice in staying away. They wanted me and Chu to break up, they tried to get him to leave me. WTF?! They wanted to just be friends with him (they really think they know him) and poison him to leave me. They showed their whole ass that last dinner and what was lurking beneath finally showed its head.

I called Chu up to read the message for me. I didn’t want to open it and show her that I had read it. It was something like, “Hey I’ve been thinking about you, I hope all is well.” or something like that. Chu tells me to delete it and I agree with him and do just that. He later tells me that they texted him a while back in the summer to wish me a happy birthday. He deleted it as well and just never told me. I don’t really care. I just think it’s so funny how time brings everything back around. I don’t feel wronged by her, I mean it was fucked up that they were trying to take Chu away from me but I’m not really angry. I feel bad for them. They have no idea what kind of beast Chu really is and he’s as loyal as they come. I tried to warn them but the Chu they know is all an act and its pretty laughable that they really thought they knew him better than me.

No, there is no place for them in our world. 2020 is all about not looking back.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.