Cookies and Outlaws in the Mix in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 26, 2019, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this a couple of weeks ago. We had a brief window of blue sky this morning and Mt. Hood is absolutely gorgeous in the fresh snow and low southern light.

There were numerous vistas of the mountain on my way up to visit The Guy Who Lives in His Car at the hospital. He had surgery Monday even though he had a cold. His spirits are good, and he is being released tomorrow and will go to stay with The Sherlock’s.

Mrs. Sherlock is going to see if she can get him to talk to a social worker. He needs to have his own place to live. Even if it is a room in a house with others, that would be better than living in his car. His prognosis seems to be relatively hopeful and the doctors are going to look at reattaching his colon in a few months.

We had a lovely low key Christmas. I spent about three hours on Christmas Eve making the potato chip cookies. The recipe made 6-dozen so I gave a bunch away and froze some. Kes just told me they were a big hit at the party she went to.

I find this cookie making recovery phase of my life fascinating as it seems to be deeply seeded in me, like it is my karma or something.

I am making another batch of the chewy molasses spice cookies Sunday to share with a neighbor and then maybe some cashew ones I read about. And who knows if that will be the end of it or not. Kes is thinking about making Mexican Wedding Cookies today.

For Christmas they got me a couple of wonderful big Pyrex measuring cups I can use and we decided on a Rachael Ray casserole tote instead of a food cozy for the potlucks ahead. I ordered that today. It keeps food warm for 3 hours. So I can make stuff and send it to where Kes and Most Honorable live and it will still be warm.

They brought up a dessert yesterday for their holiday celebration and just had it in the back seat well of the car again. The woman that is most responsible for the vibrancy of the Trails Club had her hip replaced a couple of days ago (she is younger than me) and there is discussion about bringing her and her husband food for the next week or so.

I had a lovely lunch over at the Sherlock’s with this yummy almond cake for dessert. Mrs. Sherlock wanted to watch The Hours and Mr. Sherlock didn’t and in the end I got taken down to the basement where all the movies are stored and was given a choice between about 12 movies.

Trying to be diplomatic I chose a Western I had not seen called Blackthorn with Sam Shepard. Mr. Sherlock had told me before that there are people who think Butch Cassidy didn’t die with the Sundance Kid and this story is based on that. The scenery in the movie was gorgeous, truly stunning and the horses, if you like horses, were fabulous.

There were flashbacks to when Butch and his cohorts first came to Bolivia and the character was played by a handsome younger actor and at the end of the movie I was like who is that guy???

We couldn’t figure it out from the credits…we were multi-tasking by that time anyway but I looked him up when I got home and he is this Danish actor that hasn’t made many movies the last 8 years or so and I thought hmmm, that is strange and then I saw that he was in Game of Thrones!

Jaime Lannister. Duh. I only watched the first two episodes of GOT and I knew who Jamie Lannister was. The actor’s name is Nikolaj Coster-Waldau. They say he was making $2 million a year after season 5. Nice work if you can get it.

We’re going on a group hike tomorrow morning but otherwise I get to chill and think about what I’d like to see unfold in the new year.


Last updated December 26, 2019


woman in the moon December 26, 2019

I had a cookie making stage in life - started 1-1-2000 - long story involving a lost kid and a phone call that resulted in 3 batches at a time cookie making for a set of years. Not sure if I'll ever do it again or not.
Interesting about that movie - and the Danish actor. Almost all books/movies/works of art have elements of interest. Big gracious world we live in.

Jinn December 27, 2019

My cookie making skills are limited to the ones you buy in rolls :-).

Marg December 27, 2019

Mrs. Sherlock and I share the same taste in movies - I love The Hours! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.