Meaningful Work in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 19, 2019, 12:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi. It’s Thursday. I spent the whole workday yesterday preparing for a 15-minute presentation I have to give to the executive team today. This is not even for The LIC.

What? Didn’t I tell you that in addition to The Line I Created, I work on a whole other line of products that are pretty cool as well. This line of products is very technical and very interesting in that they involve special engineering features and super high-tech (and some low-tech) methodologies and features…including crash testing in cars! So I’m putting together documentation and videos and such that include crash test dummies and important documents.

This job is anything but boring!

Yet…there needs to be more.

I just got a text from Brown Nosey. Remember her? She was the super competitive woman here at work who was a big tattle tale and drove me nuts before she was fired? I have to say, when not in an office setting and chilled out I think she’s wonderful - there’s no competition and she’s witty and self-deprecating and quite thoughtful. ANYWAY, she sent me a text telling me that she’s at a certain office building in a neighborhood close to my hood for an interview and that I should really come work there because the whole building was filled with 90% gorgeous men…ha!

And look, it’s not that I just want to be working in an office with hot dudes - though that wouldn’t bother me a bit - it’s that I’ve been at this job for SEVEN years now without a single promotion or even acknowledgement of my accomplishments (save for keeping my job, ha…which, I guess you could say is an acknowledgement). I have never even gotten the requisite “cost of living” increase because I really make more $$$ than the job title. But that’s only because I don’t have the right title!

I honestly think that if I had this same exact job but was working for someone different that it would be like this:

  • Desirable location = downtown [my city] so I could walk to work
  • I would have a Director title at the very least
  • The office would be filled with hot dudes (hahahah)
  • I would have my previous travel schedule (international research and development)
  • I would have an office with a door instead of a cube
  • I would share my work with like-minded people
  • We would DRESS like we care about our jobs
  • We would be passionate about what we are doing
  • Our work would make a mark on the world

It’s not too much to ask, is it?

So now that THAT’S out there, it’s time to #manifest

Carry on,
GS


Athena December 19, 2019

I would send a resume/make linked in contact with HR for every single downtown company regardless of what it was, since that item is at the top of the list.

Jinn December 19, 2019

Now you know exactly what you are looking for !

Satine December 19, 2019

Love this list! I hope you get every single one. xx

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ December 19, 2019

thank you, me too! xo

Complicated Disaster December 19, 2019

It sucks when you never get any acknowledgement, huh? Time to dust off the resume (or CV, as we like to call it!) xx

bobbi01 December 19, 2019

I thinking working with hot guys would just add another layer of complication. The rest of the list is worth aspiring to.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ December 19, 2019

Haha! This is probably so true!

Pies on a Carousel December 19, 2019

I prefer dressing like I don't care about my job. Although that might just be a sign that I don't care about my job.

Ginger Snap Pies on a Carousel ⋅ December 19, 2019

haha! I know, most people think it's a perk that there's no real dress code, but there's NOTHING quite like a sharp dressed man in a business suit and I really love business dressing myself and on other women. Plus, it's something to talk about as well.

Sugar Magnolia December 19, 2019

The office would be filled with hot (single) dudes (hahahah)

Ginger Snap Sugar Magnolia ⋅ December 19, 2019

Excellent point 😊

plushcreep December 19, 2019

Seven years is a long time to go without a cost-of-living raise, let alone acknowledgment and gratitude.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ December 20, 2019

I should clarify - and maybe I will in an entry - that it's not that I haven't gotten ANY raises...I just haven't gotten the 3% that everyone else customarily gets. I have gotten between 1% and 2% every year. One year boss told me that it was because he needed some of my salary to bump up effing Mini Me's salary (as part of his promotion). Yes. He TOLD me that. This year he said it was because I make more $$ than the directors. I don't understand that he's comparing me to directors when he "doesn't believe in titles". That's not true either. He blasts people if they call him Vice President instead of EXECUTIVE Vice President. He just doesn't believe in titles for ME.

Marg December 20, 2019

That’s crap - although you’d never get any work done with all those hot dudes around! :)

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ December 20, 2019

You make an excellent point!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.