One More in These titles mean nothing.

  • Dec. 18, 2019, 10:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well hi again. Not sure what is going to happen here - maybe nothing. Life is full of surprises. When it’s not full of boredom. I suppose it’s all our own choices too, which we are - excited? or bored? Or maybe even something in between - semi-conscious?

Christmas cards are coming.
- One from someone here.
- One from the kids up north.
- One more from someone who used to be there - that one came with a pair of socks with cows on them.
- I got another political one from our congressperson - I think that’s the first time that’s happened.
- One from an old Palo friend.
- One from a niece with a little group letter and kid pictures.
- Jim got one from a high school classmate with kid pictures. He will get more too.

I haven’t sent any yet. I usually send ‘some’, ‘a few’, ‘in return’. That will have to happen soon. I was going to go through my card drawer and see if previous outgoing cards have been used up. I have blank note cards but Jim seems to think Christmas cards should be Christmas cards so I suppose I either find some or buy some.

For a while this afternoon I was super proud of myself. I had determined Christmas dinner in a way I’d always wants to do. I grew up reading about Jewish people in cities who would go to Chinese restaurants on Christmas because they were the only ones open. When my town got a Chinese restaurant I was thrilled to think that I could go to eat there on Christmas and feel big city. Today I called them and they assured me they would be open and they had enough room that a reservation would not be required.

So.

There I am, proud as one of those 12 days of Christmas birds. I have made a matriarchal decision. This is the year we are having Christmas dinner at the Chinese restaurant on Spring Avenue. I’ll pay. Joana likes Chinese, I assume the rest of the family either likes Chinese or is up for adventure or will be sports about it. We can have snacky stuff at home. I almost call Deb to tell her the grand news.

But.

When I mention it to Jim who of course would have to be the biggest of the sports, he fails to see what a good idea it would be.

So heck.

There’s a week left and I do not have to make reservations.

Anyway. Best of luck with your own holiday plans. Try just hard enough, but not too hard.

Here - have an old picture of part of the Mississippi from above.


Last updated December 18, 2019


ConnieK December 18, 2019

My youngest thinks Christmas cards are ridiculous. We tell him that he was born an 80 year old man. I send them out still. I've tried to cut back, suggest dropping out of the tradition, etc. to no avail. I caved.

Chinese sounds great. Is it because Jim wants traditional food or because he doesn't want to eat out? Mention it at this year's dinner and ask everyone how they felt about the idea for next Christmas?

woman in the moon ConnieK ⋅ December 19, 2019

Your suggestion is very diplomatic. I'll see how it works.

Marg December 19, 2019

Maybe he just fancies a bit of good ol’ turkey? Or maybe he’s worried about the cost? They might bump the prices up with it being Christmas Day.

Just Annie December 19, 2019

Maybe Jim would like to plan and cook the meal?

This is the first year that Katie and crew (Kara, too) don't have to visit Albert's side of the family on Christmas day, so they'll be home for Christmas dinner. I wonder what they'll do. I usually make soup for Robert and me, but they may want something more substantial. And are we invited there? Should I invite them here? All new and exciting. (And I'm flexible as long as I get a nap!)

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ December 19, 2019

Your first sentence is very funny.

Purple Dawn December 19, 2019

Jim could cook if he doesn't like your idea? ;)

noko December 19, 2019

I admit, I have eaten Chinese out on Christmas Day. It is a good idea.

Jinn December 19, 2019

Chinese sounds great to me but I am cooking a ham with various sides :-( It’s ok, I like ham and I will make the sides Christmas Eve. Putting Frank to work as chef . :-)

Sugar Magnolia December 19, 2019

Our family has dwindled down so that for a while my daughter and I and any other strays went to Chinatown for dim sum every Christmas. For the last four years friends have had Christmas for all strays at their house. It is always great fun. Everyone brings something so it's not too hard on anyone. This year the main dish will be enchiladas. Everyone will bring Mexican themed dishes except me. I'm doing dessert.But I do love dim sum on Christmas.

Beret December 19, 2019

Sounds like a plan worth trying. Never been to Chinese here on Christmas. NG probably would not hear of it.

NorthernSeeker December 22, 2019

I think Chinese food for Xmas is a great idea...that is how the movie "The Christmas Story" ends...love that movie. You have quite a good selection of cards...you've been an influence in the world.

Serin December 30, 2019

I'm bad at christmas cards period. I think they're lovely, I just never seem to make it to actually doing them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.