Clingy Cat Man and Fulfilled Desires in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 15, 2019, 4:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mrs. Sherlock needed to drop by the house of the hostess for the potluck we went to last week because she had left her mixer there. She had made this sheet pan size Pavlova for dessert and needed to whip the cream for it there. The house was in a neighborhood adjacent to the one in which I used to live and hang out in but not one I had any familiarity with. This one has mostly modest homes but well kept with pride.

This is a picture from the walk. This home had all their trees decorated like this.

We just left the car there and walked a few blocks up to the nearest park. It is mostly open with a nice softball diamond, playground, soft track and an unfenced dog run beneath a stand of huge Douglas fir trees. We ran Frida, which involves me horsing around with her and then she runs back to Mrs. Sherlock on a big happy loop for all three of us and then walked the neighborhood returning to the park as our anchor a couple of times.

The last time we did a big loop of the park and looked at the trees.

I didn’t even know the park was there so yesterday I looked it up online and it is one of the parks where the Friends of the Urban Forrest have identified all the trees! That is the coolest thing.

If I had a grandkid (or more likely if I stay healthy…a great great niece or nephew), I would be boring them by making them go back with me to learn all the trees.

A couple of people on the potluck walk asked me if I knew my trees because I was talking about them. When we had done reconnaissance the week before I had learned about some of the trees in that area.

It would be cool to become one of those people you always wish you had around when walking to ask what kind of tree you are seeing.

Yesterday I rearranged some of my electronics so I can do my yoga continuing education and prep on the big monitor as I have over the last few weeks been trying to do it on the iPad Air and the major problem with that is that Diego thinks if I am holding the iPad in my hand I am staying put and have lap availability.

Since he was sick he is more attuned to my movements than ever before and wants to be on me or near me at all times. He sits on a chair in the kitchen and watches me cook; he follows me everywhere. It is sweet but I realized I am letting him keep me from doing things I want to or need to do. He is leaning against me as I type this. Earlier I listened to a guided meditation and he was in my lap.

My namesake cat Noko was a bit like this. She was less intrusive though. And didn’t have a brother around to add into the equation.

It is all an adjustment to not working and living with an unstructured schedule as I have been the last 8 weeks. My life will not stay unstructured and so I want to enjoy it as much as I can the next few weeks.

Based on the information I have now and what will come in over the next month or two it looks like I am going to be okay without needing to take a part time job. I am planning on taking on another class, a daytime class, maybe two but that is it.

I need to find a venue for that because I can’t use the church and honestly with their financial issues and closures any day that they don’t absolutely have to be open I need another venue anyway. Although we celebrate holidays in yoga land, we do not take them off.

But this is so great. I will need additional income for the stuff Medicare and my supplemental insurance won’t cover…dental, vision and replacement hearing aids but right now I have all that taken care of.

One of the practices in Tantric Yoga is to identify your desires and imagine them fulfilled. You go in layer by layer to your deepest most heartfelt desire.

Now here in the outside physical world I don’t have to imagine anymore.


Last updated December 15, 2019


Jinn December 15, 2019

This is all very positive. It would be very amazing to know all the trees. You are wise soon to find a structure for your days . I have not done that and after awhile it’s depressing. I am working now to correct that .
My old cat , Al ,,has suddenly become very clingy . It’s ok most of the time but he would always be in my lap if I would let him. I am certain he is healthy but maybe it’s aging . It makes me worry about him.

Marg December 16, 2019

And how nice is that?!
Willow and Snarf were very much like that - they used to vie for bits of my body to lie on/against and I ended up in many awkward positions as a result :) Bailey is more aloof - he will lie alongside me but not on me thankfully. I miss the other guys though.
I hope you manage to find a venue for the new class okay.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.