Just a survey? in These titles mean nothing.

  • Dec. 10, 2019, 2:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Monday night, a little after 7:30 pm.
I’m writing this to have a record - before I forget.

My phone/land line rings quite a bit. I have a wireless phone that I often keep on the table near my computer so it’s easier for me to answer. I live in Iowa and I’m 73 years old and my calls tend to be political because of the February caucus, or insurance solicitations, or credit card offers, or I fell and I can’t get up = you get the idea? A fair number are polls - usually fairly straight forward political questions that I don’t mind answering.

The one I just got was somewhat different. It was an automated poll that asked for answers by pressing the numbers on the phone.

First question - do I consider myself a republican, a democrat or something else. Democrat.
Second question (that I remember) if a friend wanted to flip a coin to gamble for $5 - heads I lose $5 or tails I win $5, would I do it? I said no.
Third question - if a friend wanted to flip a coin, heads I lose $5 and tails I win $6, would I do it? I said no again.
Fourth question - have I ever consulted a lawyer in regard to filing a law suit? Once? More than once? Never? I said never.
Fifth question - have I or anyone I know been seriously injured at work or otherwise? I said no.

They asked my age and sex, did not care about my race, level of education or family income.

What do you make of that?


Last updated December 10, 2019


Park Row Fallout December 10, 2019

Strange; may be a risk assessment or benefit/risk poll to try to discover "Iowa Voter Habits"??? No idea.

Purple Dawn December 10, 2019

Strange questions, especially the gambling ones. I try to get away with saying "heads you lose, tails I win" the grandsons fell for it once 😊

Jinn December 10, 2019

Very strange . Wow.

Marg December 10, 2019

There’ll be something devious behind it - my guess is the last question may be the cruncher :)

woman in the moon Marg ⋅ December 11, 2019

Yes, maybe. Had I had injuries, a real live person might have come on line or would be calling me in the near immediate future.

Just Annie December 10, 2019

Those are some odd questions! I have no idea what they were getting at.

NorthernSeeker December 11, 2019

Cambridge Analytica asked questions to determine whether or not people were committed to a political viewpoint meaning they would be hard to persuade to change political parties. They identified the people who were on the fence with their decisions and focused on those people because it would be easier to change their minds to vote for a political candidate. There might be a correlation of people who are persuadable politically and their views on insurance and risk. The Democrats support a larger, enhanced social safety network politically which is a type of insurance. That could relate to the lawsuit question...do you expect a contract to be honoured and will you take action if it isn't? Do people have to follow through on their commitments? Again, this could be political. If someone makes promises in an election and doesn't follow through do you hold it against them? Or is it not such a big deal. The final question also relates to the social safety network. If you know people who have been injured and could not access services and help you have a personal reason to want a social safety network and you have information and details about how the current system doesn't work for a lot of people.

I'd say this survey is to identify people whose profile indicates they could be persuaded to vote Republican.

NorthernSeeker December 11, 2019

I saw a good documentary on Netflix about Cambridge Analytica and the techniques they used during the last presidential election and the Brexit campaign in Britain.

noko December 12, 2019

I agree with Northern Seeker, I think this was a profiling poll so they could figure our if you were a target for whatever point of view they were selling. They know how the people at your address voted before so they were testing the waters about a possible switch.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.