The Power of Now in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 22, 2019, 4:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is from last week. I walked by this tree yesterday and almost all the leaves were down. It happens so fast sometimes. Today it is freezing and remarkably clear out. I have been posting a lot of tree pictures lately and that is because it has been a very good fall for tree pictures here. :)

I want to cherish the trees while we still have them.

Our group hike today was back in the arboretum, mostly on the trails flanked by pine trees. The light was gorgeous and it was an enjoyable way to spend the morning. These trails are packed on the weekend and it is such a gift to be able to hike on a weekday morning.

I made the test batch of Classic Oatmeal cookies, using the America’s Test Kitchen recipe on Wednesday and switched out dried cranberries for raisins. I took a little cookie tin with me to class that evening and my taste testers were quite enthusiastic and after the lemon cookie debacle I was thrilled to have my fancy restaurant eating gourmet inclined students give them the stamp of approval!

It seemed to me that they might be only a tad too dry or too sweet but when I asked about that I got a resounding no from beloved students with cookies in their mouths. I also got a…just the right amount of cinnamon comment. They ate them all.

So yesterday I made another batch first thing and today I handed them off to Mrs. Sherlock for her memorial tomorrow. Mission accomplished.

I also got the nametags done for her membership drive. She was quite appreciative. So my first little foray into volunteerism has been a success.

Oh and I don’t think I mentioned that the Almond Carrot Cake with Ricotta Cream was also a roaring success. That was mostly for me to find a healthy yummy way to use extra carrots. I was so glad I bought the new micro plane zester! That had the zest of three lemons in it and the new grater/zester worked so well. I highly recommend it.

There is a holiday potluck for the other hiking group on the 10th and I am going to make some sort of vegetable gratin for that.

Knowing what is in things because one makes them oneself is helpful. It cheered me up this morning to figure out that with all this baking I haven’t gained any weight.

I haven’t lost any either but not gaining is good!

I am still waiting for my Medicare Part B effective letter. Oh well. I am resigned to the fact that I will need to go back to the Social Security office on Monday. Now that I am getting the hang of it, it all gets a little easier but I would really like this over with. Our current government (from on top) has been cutting back on the resources for the field offices over the last 3 years.

It is time to bring my poles and grippy shoe coverings out of the closet.

We will probably have ice next week.

But we will start to see early daffodils in 10 weeks so I am not complaining. Oh I am so not complaining.

It is such a relief not to need to deal with work. For the last seven years or so since I have been teaching I have always been saying… I am too busy for this or that.

And now I am not and this or that suits me just fine.


Jinn November 22, 2019

Revel in your still new freedom !

Zipster November 22, 2019

Those cookies with the cranberries sound so good! Love the tree photos.

Marg November 23, 2019

I knew you’d love it!
Nice work on the cookie front - and that cake! I just want a piece right now :)
I take lots of photos of trees too :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.