MY FRIEND DIXIE in Postcards 4

  • Nov. 18, 2019, 9:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I met Dixie Anna at 14 and I was fifteen. Dixie was of great value to me as was her brother. Oh, teen agers. We three went to an alternate High School where we were not the brightest of stars. I was the matron of honor at her wedding, and we communicated often over the years.

We took AMTRAK up to Oregon to visit her last year, and to see my family too. I had been forewarned by her son that she had dementia and was fading. We found that she could only stand being with us for half an hour. We took her home, began sharing bright and colorful cards, and heard no more from her at all. Did I talk with her on the phone? I don’t remember. Her soon was very kind.

Five days ago she had a vicious stroke. I know that she was deeply missing her husband Ken. Last night she died at seven PM. Her son called. I so appreciated this.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: He’s working hard with no doctor’s appointments today. Tomorrow and Wednesday yes.

  • Myself: Milaka took this or G took this with my camera. Nov. 2018. Me:
    Kind of tired and shaky.

  • Photo: Dixie and I. 2019.

  • Reading: Just finished one.

  • Gratitude’s: George who is taking the laundry down for me.


Ragdolls November 18, 2019

So very sorry for your loss. (((HUGS)))

Marg November 19, 2019

I’m so sorry to hear this - it sounds like a lovely friendship :)

Zipster November 19, 2019

I am sorry for your loss of such a close and longstanding friend. I am sorry too that dementia took part of her before.

Jinn November 19, 2019

I am so sorry about your friend !

aunty EM November 20, 2019

Losing a lifelong friend is so hard. Please accept my deepest hugs of comfort. It seems you have an awfully lot on your plate right now.

Hillbilly Princess November 20, 2019

I am so sorry

NorthernSeeker November 22, 2019

Dixie looks really happy in her last visit with you. Half an hour of lucidity can be such a gift.

Kristi1971 November 24, 2019

I'm so sorry to read of your loss. It's like you lost her twice, it seems. Big Hugs.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.