day one: a landing in Postcards 4

  • Nov. 16, 2019, 10:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not bad at all. The MD Anderson Cancer Center has gentle and kind well in hand. The pictures on the link below make it all look much better than it is too. If you arrive at noon, all is chaos….that’s the only problem. We got in and on a chair and waited. I was given a warm blanket and waited. That sort of chaos. Endless.

I brought a book, and magazines, and George. That wasn’t quite enough. I wore tennies and my feet froze. I should have had my UGGS on. I needed a pillow for my loused up knee to change it’s position comfortably. My hair has turned grey since September, yes there used to be brown in there. And annoyingly I was asked if G was my son. That’s sort of thing.

Today is day 2, and all is still well. They tell me that Sunday will be the worst. Encouragingly, I was told that if I didn’t have morning sickness with my kids, I was unlikely to have nausea with the chemo. I can say that my hands are shaking badly. But I will live.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….


Jinn November 16, 2019

Keeping you in my prayers and my heart .

MageB Jinn ⋅ November 17, 2019

thank you.

aunty EM November 17, 2019

I write this on Sunday. Sending prayerful thoughts, hugs and lots of love to you, Dear Mage.

MageB aunty EM ⋅ November 17, 2019

Me too. Thanks, this Sunday is a good one.

ODSago November 17, 2019

I wish I could be there to go with you. Kermit had his chemo days weeks apart, not this close together. Different treatments but for the same purpose, to make you strong and cancer free. Hugs and hugs.

MageB ODSago ⋅ November 17, 2019

Mine aare weeks apart too.

ODSago MageB ⋅ November 17, 2019

Oh, must have missread. That's helpful, not going through it as often as I thought.

NorthernSeeker November 17, 2019

I can imagine the chaos you're describing. I've been at the ER in Victoria with Mr. NS (when he took a fall) and it was hectic. Are the cold feet from the chemo? I have a pair of reading socks that are lined with fluffy imitation fur. They are the bomb.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 17, 2019

Hope he is going to be fine. Yes, I have fluffy socks and happy UGS to wear with sweats and layers.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 17, 2019

Thaanks

Marg November 17, 2019

I suppose it takes a while before you know exactly what’s best to take to get you through it. Hope the ‘worst’ day wasn’t too ominous for you.

Hillbilly Princess November 20, 2019

🌊🌊🌊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.