Instant Pot Lo Mein in Tales from the kitchen witch

  • Nov. 13, 2019, 4:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ok so this is another cook for my massive family recipe. But it can easily be adapted. Especially seeing i season to taste!!

This is made as a side dish for chicken teryakki.

3 lbs pasta, I used spaghetti noodles.
3 cups chicken broth. I use stock and make my own.
4 shakes of oyster sauce ( from the bottle, i guess a teaspoon each?? I just shake haha)
1 dash cooking wine.
4 dashes ginger sprinkled on top.
4 teaspoons sesame oil.
4 dashes soy sauce

Break noodles in half and layer in pot criss cross. Pour liquids over the top of the noodles. Sprinkle ginger on top.
Turn on IP to medium pressure, 5 minutes. Natural pressure release.

While its pressurizing and cooking. Finely slice your veggies. I use carrots broccoli, bell peppers and frozen mixed veggies. When the pot is opened. Put your veggies in the heated noodles switch to saute mode and stir to mix.

Easy peasy side that you can add extra flavorful yummies into. You can put chicken cubes directly into the pot as well.


music & dogs & wine November 13, 2019

Sounds great! I am in love with my IP!

ChainedChrysalis music & dogs & wine ⋅ November 13, 2019

I like mine a lot too! This was super fast, maybe 10 minutes ish? 15, because i did saute it longer, my mom came in with some shredded cabbage broccoli and carrots and i needed to cook those for a few minutes too haha.
I need to use it more now that we have 14!! the 8 qt makes a side dish haha.

music & dogs & wine ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 15, 2019

I think I will make it this weekend :) I have an 8 qt for 2 of us, always plenty of food!

ChainedChrysalis music & dogs & wine ⋅ November 15, 2019

Oh man! Thats a big one for two people haha. Our 8 is barely big enough for my 7, much less the extra 7 in our house now :D
You can throw your favorite seasonings in it too. Easy.

Jinn November 14, 2019

I don’t have an IP . They intimidate me :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 14, 2019

Its super simple to use, For most families a smaller 6 qt would be good. You literally just put everything in and push the on button on the presets. Soup. stew, rice, oatmeal ect. Very easy.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 14, 2019

Wow, that does sound easy . Maybe I should risk it! I know a lot of people on PB swear by them.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 14, 2019

There are some great facebook pages for instant pots too. Recipes ect. Its very very simple. The key to remember is you need to add a cup of liquid to anything you put in it. So like if you do spaghetti in it, and the sauce, you ahve to add a cup of water to the sauce ( it dosent effect the taste) but i cooked the pasta in there easily. Rice. It has a saute feature so i can click that and brown my meat before cooking soup. Super easy.
My favorite honestly is roast. I put the meat, seasonings 2 cups water, cook for 1-2 hours depending on size. Then put in cubed carrots and potatoes and onions. another half hour, and its falling apart like its cooked all day!

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 14, 2019

I may have to buy one :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.