HORROR in Postcards 4

  • Nov. 13, 2019, 12:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

• Would you believe: “Castle Rock is an American psychological horror anthology web television series, featuring and inspired by characters, settings, and themes from the stories of Stephen King and his fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine.”

• I’m not a fan of horror. Anything horror, actually. There’s something really wrong with me deep inside in that I take any horror story personally. It’s ok if the subject is mystery or science fiction or even romance. But not horror. I feel that deep inside of my soul, and I certainly don’t want it there.

• But that Lincoln does make a great graphic…a great sculpture, although derivative. The owner of a Ranch in Texas, Stanley Marsh 3, brought in a hippy coop in 1974 from San Francisco called the Ant Farm. These guys planted ten caddies, nose down, in a line. Over the years these Cadillac’s have developed a life of their own. Bent, broken, and colorful, this metal road side sculpture now draws more visitors than it did when it was new.

• Please tell me, what do you think of this?
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Work all day as an auditor then Costco.

  • Myself: I need to find something other than fake sugar to put in my coffee.

  • Photo: Mine out the window of a Trolley.

  • Reading: An older mystery.

  • Gratitude’s: George fer sure.


gattaca November 13, 2019 (edited November 13, 2019)

Edited

Have you tried agave sweetener in coffee?
I think it’s very good.

https://www.besthealthmag.ca/best-eats/diet/agave-nectar/

MageB gattaca ⋅ November 13, 2019

What are brand names?

GypsyWynd November 13, 2019

I don't like horror, either. In high school, I read things like "The Exorcist" and "Carrie", and could handle it. But then I read King's "The Shining", and that was the end of horror for me. It was just too much for me.

Kristi1971 November 13, 2019

I'm from Maine, and I regularly saw Stephen at high school basketball games - he was a huge fan. He was also one of my best friend's high school English teacher back in the 70s. I'm pretty familiar with "Castle Rock". :) My favorite of all his work is "The Stand". "Carrie" was his baby.

Marg November 13, 2019

I do like me a Stephen King horror I must admit and am familiar with the Castle Rock location. He’s a very good character writer and that somehow makes them more palatable for me :)

Hillbilly Princess November 13, 2019

I hate hate hate horror.

elaine2 November 13, 2019

Honey?

Narrator November 13, 2019

Amarillo also has an art installation of funny signs in one of the neighborhoods - I remember one reading “Art is what you can get away with”. :)

NorthernSeeker November 13, 2019

I'm not a fan of horror but I'm even less a fan of gruesome. The psychological horror movies like "The Silence of the Lambs", "The Omen", and "True Detective Season 1" keep me watching and stay with me for a long time. I'm inclined to just turn off anything gruesome.

Jinn November 14, 2019

I do not like horror although I have read many Stephen King and Dean Koontz books . I like the mysterious or paranormal but murder leaves me cold. I do not like murder mysteries either .
That caddie is interesting 🧐 !

Jinn November 14, 2019 (edited November 14, 2019)

Edited

After I read, “ Salem’s Lot “ I wore a cross for a year and “ Cujo” scared the beejayus out of me ! :-)

ODSago November 14, 2019

I never read any horror or watch it. I don't want those images in my mind. My son faces such horrors in his job as a law enforcement professional that he has some traces of dis-rest at times. That is unavoidable, part of why I find horror that is avoidable should be avoided.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.