[06] NoJoMo 19 in MoMoMo

Revised: 11/06/2019 3:13 p.m.

  • Nov. 6, 2019, midnight
  • |
  • Public

How do you deal with confrontation at work vs at home?

Oh, I LOVE this prompt!!

Continuing over from the last entry, I’ve always been a big fan of confrontation. When I was in elementary school, my parents forbade me from physically fighting in school. I would cry because I didn’t understand why I had to “be the better person” while the other kids would pick on me. (I understand now, but that’s another story.)

When I hit junior high, I had enough. I remember a big guy kicking the back of my knee, trying to make me fall.

I only remember whirling around, grabbing his head and throwing my knee into his face. He back-handed me and that was it, I saw red and blacked out. When I “came to”, there was a chick in my face yelling at me to breathe and let go. I looked down and saw I was choking this guy while digging my nails into his throat, drawing blood.

After that, I realized that I needed to calm down.

But that didn’t happen as well as I wanted it to.

Until a couple years ago, the only line between work and home confrontation was violence. I’ve confronted people at work, I’ve made people cry. I’ve made people quit. But i have never put hands on any of my co-workers in that manner.

Home, however…that’s different. Though “home” is more along the lines of “personal” life. Confrontations will always happen. It’s how it’s all approached that dictates how it ends. We can agree to disagree, that’s fine. But when you come to my house and get disrespectful, I have no qualms about shoving you out of my house. I have had all kinds of physical altercations, but I have NEVER started one.

But you can be damn sure that I will always finish one.

Then the night with an alcoholic happened.

And it was then I realized that confrontation wasn’t always necessary. Sometimes, walking away is the best alternative.


Last updated January 01, 2020


Foofah November 08, 2019

Wow! I had my knee kicked out from under me and I fell and injured it. Then the same person tried to kick the crutches out from under me when I returned to school. Wish I would have not been afraid of physically defending myself. LOL.

Gilraent November 09, 2019

You and I are a bit alike on this.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.