30 Before 30 in Steps to Change

  • March 10, 2014, 8:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I started this chapter of this diary when I was trying to get into shape. It was going well for a while, a little over two months...and then a vacation made it kind of fall apart >_<. Completely.

All the good habits that I had been building? Gone. Quite a good feeling, that, and with a few other things going on in my personal life, let me tell you, it's been a great few weeks. (There is sarcasm there, in case you didn't detect it)

With my 29th birthday coming up rather soon, I thought now would be a nice time to try this thing again, this time with more concrete goals. The next step, after picking concrete goals, is to develop a plan to meet them (see, that way I get the process-oriented way of looking at things that I respond well to, but still have something to look forward to instead of getting mired down in the day to day).

And part of this whole plan is public shami...I mean, a support base, which basically means I'm going to talk about things on my blog and call it good enough.

The nature of my goals is basically 30 things that I want to accomplish before I turn 30. Because that's nice, round numbers and easy to track. I've made a list of them, that will get updated throughout the year (hopefully!) as I complete them. Some are harder than others, but I tried to pick goals that would be difficult but achievable.

For instance, there is no "run a marathon" goal. Please, let's start with "run a mile" and work my way up.

There is a chance that I'll celebrate this next year by doing some sort of obstacle run that have become quite popular as of late, like a mud run. I'm not sure yet - I still have details to work out for that, like: 1) where a close-ish one is, and 2) how well could I do such a thing without glasses? I don't see well at all without mine, which might mean getting contacts, which...we'll see.

One big thing at a time.

Anyhow, here is my workflowy list of my 30 Before 30 Goals.

So yeah. I should be starting in on these this week. The easier ones, obviously, to work my way up. Let's see what this year has to bring, shall we?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.