NJM5: The Update in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 5, 2019, 10:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Quickly: Doc Jeff (my PCP) called me first thing this morning to tell me that all my blood tests came in NORMAL (yay!) so the question still remained - WTF has been going wrong with my body since I went on Plavix and aspirin?

He told me that he was going to talk with my vascular surgeon about his thoughts on the meds as he was my original doctor in the ER when my carotid dissection was first discovered.

He called me back later and said that he and Vascular Doc had spoken and that they agreed I should just graduate to one baby aspirin a day.

That’s quite a jump from these heavy-duty blood thinners, but Vasc Doc says it’s more than plenty to protect me now that the dissection has healed and I’m left with the aneurysm.

So now I have decided that I’ll do the one baby aspirin in the morning and then cap each night with one glass of wine for good measure! I think it’s a perfect plan, don’t you?

It’s been two days since I’ve been off the Plavix and my chills are completely GONE. The red pin-dots are still covering the entire lower half of my body, but I know that they’ll be going away once the Plavix is completely out of my system.

I’m supposed to make an appointment for a consultation with my neuroradiologist-interventionist sometime this month or next just to touch base on what’s happening inside my head artery-wise and I should be good to go!

Can you tell I’m feeling much, much better? I sure can.

And that means I can get back to the business of nonsense here in my diary, you know? I’m so ready to do that!

Despite all of that craziness, I’m still somewhat basking in the glow of vacation, but of course, the medical issues and some work stuff have already tainted a bit of that glittery goodness. I need to write about it all before it completely goes away. I’m still flipping through the photos when I get little bits of time. So much fun!

Why can’t we be on vacation for like HALF the year? Wouldn’t that be amazing? I mean, who the hell wrote the rules that we take so LITTLE vacation time? You know what we should do? We should create time share jobs, right? And two people could hold the same position and just switch off during different times of the year. How great would that be? Then we’d only have to work half the year and we could keep our sanity, enjoy whereever we want to travel and/or relax and still keep on top of the ball at work.

Of course, I’d want to share my job with someone awesome but I’d also want it to be someone I could outshine so I wouldn’t get jealous of the great work that they’d do. Heh. There are ALWAYS glitches to anything worth doing/risking/trying. I suppose people have much too much pride to let someone else fly on top of thier current, you know?

Mmkay. I better close for now since my own eyes are starting to close as well. Last couple of days have been draining.

Here’s to more energy in the near future for lots and lots of stories!!

xox,
GS


Gangleri November 05, 2019

Good news!

Complicated Disaster November 06, 2019

Whoooop! Yay!! xx

Marg November 06, 2019

So glad there was a good outcome - the addition of red wine to the nightly ritual sounds just what the doc ordered!
I was terrible for not taking all my vacation time at work but in most of my jobs I was the only one who could do the work so the longer I was away the bigger the mess I had to sort out on my return lol!

Florentine November 06, 2019

I'm glad you're feeling so much better!

Jinn November 06, 2019

Whew! Good news !

plushcreep November 08, 2019

I, for one, wholeheartedly approve of your baby aspirin and wine plan!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.