The Vet, The Fog and Blessedly Short Power Failure in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 5, 2019, 7:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Out this morning on an errand, this is the area that used to be the pool at the YMCA across the street but was back filled by Under Armor and is now their Portland headquarters. It was miasmic and atmospheric and one could barely see a huge construction crane from a block away. Not anywhere near as bad as New Delhi but not good for breathing on its own.

Our big excitement today (besides the 10 minute full neighborhood power outage) was going to the vet. Kes came up as the vet is actually not in Portland but south of here to take us. She gets a big bushel of karma points for that.

Diego has been better the last few days but I have been carefully monitoring everything he eats and does and anything but small amounts of bland food has been setting him off throwing up again. Poor guy.

For a number of reasons it appears it isn’t anything serious, thank goodness but we did some tests to make sure his organs are all functioning, He got a anti-nausea shot and I have pills to give him to see if we can get enough food to stay in him so he can calm down and rest and heal. He didn’t need fluids so that was a relief.

He is resting up against my leg as I type this.

I am grateful for the washer and for power to run it and the fact that I don’t have fancy furniture but instead old towels around and covers on the furniture that are easy to wash.

I think we have a system in place now to keep him comfortable and stabilize him so I can return to a normally active life.

So far I have had 8 students bail on classes this week. Well two of them switched days so I should see them tomorrow. And next Monday, Veterans Day, the church (which is apparently looking for ways to save money) is closing yet again so no class then.

I need to find another place to teach my Monday class. With all these holiday closures I am often only able to teach this particular class three times a month and I know my students will come on holidays because I always had class at the studio.

And there is much enthusiasm about an additional daytime class so I need a place to teach that as well.

There is certainly no lack of things to do and I am enjoying the heck out of doing one task at a time in my own time. Today I washed the heavy bathmat that takes forever to dry.

I need to practice using my cell phone. It gets all complicated with my hearing aids and my phone battery has been totally wonky with the last upgrade. I was hoping I could get a dock with a handset but the ones I found are expensive and not well reviewed so I just need to buck up and learn how to deal for now.

If that doesn’t work I suppose I could spring for an Internet phone.

My final paycheck came yesterday. The untethering is complete.

With the pension stuff in process I only have the health insurance “stuff” to get through and I hope to get started on that tomorrow. Once that is set up it is smooth sailing into all yoga all the time. Marketing, practice management, and the best part of all… learning new and inventive ways to help and encourage my students.

We are having low-key holidays this year so no big stressor there. The focus will be on simple family fun things and no big deal.

But in the meantime not working feels a bit like heaven.

I started baby sitting when I was 14, had summer jobs and my first serious full time job when I was 19. Except for a few periods in transition it has been work all the way down the arc of my life.

This is, simply put, a luxury I barely allowed myself to imagine.


Last updated November 06, 2019


Marg November 06, 2019

Not having to work will be like a low-key holiday in itself! It must feel a little strange at the moment but I’m sure you’ll get used to it :) I’m glad Diego is better and that there’s nothing serious going on - hope his tummy recovers properly soon!

noko Marg ⋅ November 06, 2019 (edited November 06, 2019)

Edited

Thanks! Not working does feel strange for sure...having my classes to teach gives me structure and allows me to feel useful and that helps. I try to imagine how frustrating not being able to work when one clearly has so much to offer is. Focusing on what we can do right in the moment takes energy though and there must be so many days when you feel as if you have no control or agency over that at all. I applaud your courage in facing that.

Marg noko ⋅ November 06, 2019

Thank you! You very much hit the nail on the head there :)

Jinn November 06, 2019

It occurs to me Diego may have an allergy to something in the food . So glad the vet has figured a system out to help him

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.