The crafty front in Tales from the kitchen witch

  • Nov. 4, 2019, 4:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ive always been a crafter. unfortunately a few years back, knitting and crocheting became so mainstream EVERYONE i knew was trying to sell. Before that it was pretty easy to sell my life long craft. But now not so much.
Its why i started spinning and dyeing my own wool as well.
I still think sometimes i need a craft i can sell that isnt so mainstream. I had a few ideas. Leather wrapped journals, and painting something for starters. But in the meantime.... I have a new obsession to make. Knitted twist headwraps.
I figured i would share one. Im in love with them.
alt text

Other crafts ive done, beading, dream catchers, minor leather work, sewing ( i do a lot of dresses for missy girl) and of course my photography. Ive also worked with soap making which is a ton of fun and i considered doing bath balms and soaps too. But i do like to make things to sell. Mostly because i dont use up what i make! So its more fun sometimes to make them for others.

My sister mentioned wanting to make my knitted headwraps for homeless. She saw some heat holding yarn? It generates heat somehow? Anyway i was thinking as simple as beanies are to make. Maybe we will make a nice stack to donate. After i lost my friend to Cancer last December ( a whole different entry on those feelings is coming soon… Its almost been a year) I doanted a lot to cancer centers. Not just for kids. Kids get a lot, but for the adults. Unfortunately when i moved, i donated so much yarn, im not overly sure what i have left that im willing to part with. Does that sound snobby? Nothing i have is shabby or harsh scratchy yarn. But a lot of it has projects in mind. And some isnt stuff im willing to donate. A lot of handspun stuff i wont donate. Ahh i am a snob arent I.... Maybe my challenge is being willing to let go of projects made with those special yarns too.

So what kind of new fun crafts can i do? Dont have ot be yarn related of course. I just want something new to do, something that maybe isnt crazy popular, and something i can enjoy making and selling/ giving away!


Jinn November 05, 2019

I crochet blankets and embroider ; mostly sampler type stuff . Art journaling . I am not very good at any of it :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 05, 2019

I think being good at it, is in the eye of the beholder. Its far more important to enjoy what you do! I always feel bad when people say they arent good enough. Because loving it makes you good enough at it.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 05, 2019

I do it to relax . When I don’t feel like reading or writing .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 05, 2019

I actually yarn and read at the same time! lol. Kindle or on my computer :D

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 05, 2019

A multitasker. I can watch TV and crochet :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 05, 2019

Always!! I hate my hands bored, thats why i spin or knit or crochet, Or facebook game haha, Anything with my hands busy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.