NJM3: Nervous in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 3, 2019, 7:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I almost forgot to write an entry today. Time changed and it’s only 7:20pm and I’m exhausted so I’m already in bed.

But I’m nervous because I think I’m having a reaction to my new blood thinners. It started…I guess on the way back from the trip when I thought I was coming down with a cold or something. [Athena] and I went to the airport bar so that we could watch the last game of the World Series (not because we were that interested in the game but that we wanted to watch Matthew McConaughey yell “Play Ball!” before the start - of course, they didn’t show that on TV!).

Anyway, I felt the chills coming on so I ordered a Hot Toddy and still couldn’t seem to get warmed up.

That was Wednesday night. By Friday, I could feel a rash starting at my waistline where my jeans hit. By yesterday, I started to see little red pin-prick like spots on my lower legs and I still felt totally chilled. By today, my legs are covered and I can’t get warm and I’m super fatigued.

I took photos and texted to my doc who called me tonight telling me to stop taking my blood thinner and to come in to his office in the morning to get bloodwork. It could be that I have a low blood platelet count (which, duh. I switched to anti-platelet meds…so that’s probably the case). But this is super scary to me. And it could be super dangerous.

So. Blood tests fist thing in the AM for me. Doc says I’m still protected by the blood thinner because it stays in my body for about a week - which can be a good thing so I’m protected from stroke, but a bad thing if my platelet levels are too low.

UGH. Medical stuff is scary, isn’t it? I know I shouldn’t worry. There’s no use in that. I can only do what I can do now. I will take care of myself by taking the dog to daycare tomorrow and racing up (but not dangerously!) to the doc office and then getting to work. All good.

But I will say that good vibes from anyone reading certainly can’t hurt.

With so much gratitude,
GS


bobbi01 November 03, 2019

Very smart to text him pictures. I take meds for psoriasis that make me feel cold all the time. It's not the happiest of feelings.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ November 03, 2019

Sooo freezing!

Satine November 03, 2019

Thinking of you. xx

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ November 03, 2019

Thank you!! ❤️

Fred November 03, 2019

Yikes. Glad you’re getting it checked out. Your description made me think of shingles though. I hope it’s something simple to resolve.

Ginger Snap Fred ⋅ November 03, 2019

Def not shingles as it’s on both sides of my body. The whole lower half of my body is covered in red pin-prick spots. Doc says it’s classic something-or-other low platelet count stuff. He will talk with my vascular surgeon after blood tests confirm. I absolutely don’t feel okay. Glad I sent the pics.

Fred Ginger Snap ⋅ November 04, 2019

Me too. Much better to reach out to your doctor than to listen to random people like me saying “maybe it’s shingles”! Hope you’re feeling better and have a treatment plan now.

Complicated Disaster November 04, 2019

Feel better soon! Xx

Marg November 04, 2019

Good vibes in transit as I type! And if only there was a way to let our brains know worrying is pointless - they never seem to get the message :)

Athena November 04, 2019

Oh dear. Keep me posted.

plushcreep November 04, 2019

I'm hoping it's nothing serious and sending good vibes your way.

Jinn November 04, 2019

Sending a bunch of good vibes !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.