[02] NoJoMo 19 in MoMoMo

Revised: 11/02/2019 11:21 p.m.

  • Nov. 2, 2019, midnight
  • |
  • Public

What’s your favorite true story to tell? by Dark As Day, Bright As Night

There are so many, and they’re usually brought up in the group of people they pertain to.

For example, when surrounded by women, romance always comes up. When surrounded by “wannabe alpha males”, it’s always sports-related. If I’m among thrill-seekers? Oh it’s all about the canoeing incident most of the time.

But, I have to say that my absolute favorite story is when I tell people about how Andrew and I met.

We both played in summer leagues; he in baseball, and I was on a softball team. There was a huge co-ed tournament, so we were at a huge baseball complex.

Growing up poor, we didn’t have much money for “extras”. So, I was beyond ecstatic when my Dad gave me money to get ice cream after we won a grueling game against the #3 team in our league. My team was second-from-last.

I get my ice cream and head back to my parents to wait for our next game when I round the corner and get knocked over by a group of boys. Yes, I sobbed like a little bitch when I saw that the ice cream was covered in dirt.

The boys just laughed and took off.

Except Andrew.

He pulled me to my feet and told me that he would replace my ice cream.

We spent the rest of our free time under the bleachers, watching random teams play in the sweltering Midwestern heat.

After that, we would spend whatever time we could together, until I lost touch when I went to college after high school. Then I got an invitation in the mail for a wedding and saw it was him getting married.

I went back for the wedding, and we reconnected for a bit.

After that, we ended up spending a lot of time together again.

So now, here we are, still together.


Last updated January 01, 2020


Shattered November 02, 2019

Awww

Foofah November 02, 2019

Aw! He sounds like quite the gentleman! Thanks for sharing!

Gilraent November 03, 2019

This almost sounds like a rom-com, and I love it :)

Small Town Girl November 04, 2019

Made me sad to think of your ice cream in the dirt. Especially since it was a rare treat. Kids can be the worst. IDK that I ever read how you met Andrew before. Nice story.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.