NoJoMo 1 & 2: Work Baloney & Vacation Bullets in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 2, 2019, 6:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ugh! I’ve already blown it by missing Day 1, but I’m going to try to get an entry in a day and won’t beat myself up for it if I don’t. It’s just fun when I’m able to take a quick break every day and write, but some days won’t be conducive to that and I know it.

And anyway, does anybody else do NoJoMo anymore? Am I the only one?

Okay, I just checked. There are still a few of us out there who are doing NJM. I know that there are prompts, but I’m not really one to follow them because my diary is more for day-to-day thoughts rather than having to be prompted.

Anyway. I’m back from the Grand Birthday Adventure - got back late, late, late on Wednesday (really, early Thursday morning) and of course had to drag ass into the office early Thursday because all hell had broken loose while I was gone. WHY is that always the case?

The kicker was that while I was smack in the middle of one of the coolest vacations ever, I got a text from someone at work telling me about how I need to come in Thursday morning ready to do a cleanup of my area and that she would help me and all WE-CAN-DO-THIS cheerleaderly-type stuff which completely pissed me off. It’s one thing that my boss texts me for bullshit stuff while I’m out, but for this woman who’s not on any of my projects to text me out of the blue while I’m trying to be very zen-like at the spa and everything just really harshed my mellow.

She even accosted me as soon as I walked in the building on Thursday - what on EARTH?! I told her that I’d already talked with my boss about some urgent business that needed to be taken care of on Thurs (which is all TRUE) and I’d get to the cleaning on Friday (yesterday) and she seemed kind of deflated. Why? I don’t understand!

Anyway, I worked on cleaning after my projects and urgent things were starting to clear up and I told her about it, but she NEVER came over to help me like she said she would. I still don’t get it!

More than likely I’ll see her tonight as I have a wedding reception to attend. Another woman from work, Cheerleader’s boss, got married a year ago and is hosting a reception dinner to celebrate. I know a BUNCH of folks from work will be there so Cheerleader will be there as well, I’m sure. Maybe I’ll ask her WTF? Maybe I won’t. I’m still annoyed.

But who cares? It’s the weekend and I’m just back from a brilliant vacation to Vegas/Grand Canyon/Sedona with [Athena]. I could spend all day writing about it, but I have things to do today, so I feel like making a few bullets and then I’ll likely come back and explore some of the bigger bullets later…or maybe not. All I can say is, it was amazing and VERY moving:

  • I wrote a bit about Vegas in my last entry, so I’ll not really go into that a lot - just know that we had a lovely afternoon and then a wonderful night that consisted of…

  • A fab birthday dinner at Beauty & Essex. Almost like a speakeasy as the restaurant is behind a pawn shop facade. It was cool. And the stuff inside the pawn shop was cool. Food was amazing and I also discovered a trick about their champagne that blew my mind: they set up a little “area” outside the pawn shop in a spot that has seats and they GIVE AWAY flutes of champagne! I had a glass before dinner and grabbed another one after I went to the restroom before dessert - FREE DRINKS! Wheee!

  • Then on to our evening entertainment. Of course, you guessed it: the Thunder from Down Under! . Okay. I have LOTS to write about this, but I’m running out of time. Maybe I will have to write a whole entry! Bottom line, it was fun and funny and [Athena] and I laughed and laughed and it was worth it for the experience alone. More to come on that.

  • Oh! Forgot to mention these cutie dudes who were on a bachelor party and they were all dressed in these AMAZING tuxedo jackets with flamingoes all over them! These guys were SO adorable and they SERENADED us with fake barbershop harmonies (more yell-singing than anything else) while we were walking through the Cosmopolitan. So cute. So fun. So sweet. I loved them.

Guess I had more to say about Vegas than I thought!

Okay. I have a day to get to and many more entries to write so I’ll come back and write more for NJM3!

Can’t wait!
GS


Complicated Disaster November 02, 2019

Glad you had such a great time. I hope the return didn't spoil it! Xx

Jafael November 02, 2019

I still do NoJoMo, though, I also missed day one!

Jinn November 02, 2019

Sounds wonderful . I am doing NoJoMo but not doing prompts .

Marg November 03, 2019

Sounds fabulous and we’re not even at the Canyon yet lol!

Fred November 03, 2019

“Is this urgent? I’m on vacation. Please only text me with time sensitive requests.” She needs some boundaries!

Glad you had fun. We took the same trip last year in Nov.

Ginger Snap Fred ⋅ November 03, 2019

Was it freezing cold? It was soooooo cold and it snowed while we were in the G. Canyon!

Fred Ginger Snap ⋅ November 03, 2019

Not really! It was forecast to be cold at the Grand Canyon but wasn’t too bad. Vegas was warm, t shirt weather. Went to Zion, Sedona and Lake Powell too, pleasant temps.

bobbi01 November 03, 2019

That is just super annoying of your colleague. Sounds (and looked like) a fabo time.....I'm glad you just looked at the Bachelor Party lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.