A Bit of A Lark in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 28, 2019, 12:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was Cape Kiwanda on out first day at the beach. In October, in particular, it is rare to be able to go out walking in the afternoon on the day we get there but Thursday was gorgeous. All the fall foliage through the Siuslaw National Forest was scenic and the traffic wasn’t bad either.

We had a great restful and restorative time. And major bonus, this is the first time ever I have been out there, returned home, and not had to go to work the next day!

Oh joy.

The weather was variable but it only rained one afternoon. And now we are heading into the deep freeze. Luckily for us it is dry so no ice to contend with yet.

Other than taking my equipment and badge back Thursday, (my official last working day) I have no appointments at all in November. None.

My new glasses should be in next week for pickup and I am going down to hang out with Kes and Most Honorable on Thanksgiving but otherwise I am free to take care of all the inevitable paperwork on my own schedule at my own pace.

I am looking forward to teaching my classes and shifting my focus to marketing them with the goal to pick up a couple more in the months ahead.

And beginning to slowly build back some strength that I let ebb away during these last 10 months of work horror.

Diego has been following me around like a shadow since I got home but my cat sitter was great with them this time. They played a lot and got what appears to be enough stimulation.

Speaking of outside stimulation the new property managers are going to have a team out to power wash the moss and mold (this is the Pacific Northwest after all) off all the balconies and railings in the next couple of days. That will be disruptive but oh well, one of those things, and maintenance is a good thing.

I took my bird feeders down and it hurt my heart to see a male downy woodpecker looking for the suet earlier.

The same yard maintenance company works with 3 of my sister’s neighbors and when I was down there a loud leaf blower went on for hours as they moved from property to property.

That would drive me batty and it makes me glad I am an early riser, a lark, and have that quiet time in the morning.

We’ve been thinking a lot about our brethren in California with the fires.


Marg October 29, 2019

That beach looks so inviting! It must have been quite wonderful to come home and just chill and not have to rush to get organised for work next day :)
The noise of the leaf blowers and strimmers over here drives me bonkers as well - especially as they sound like a dentist’s drill half the time!

Jinn October 30, 2019

How wonderful to go to the beach and be able to come home and relax ! Enjoy the peace !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.