More in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 27, 2019, 12:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I should write here more. It would be good for me in many ways. And it probably wouldn’t hurt you either.

I have a jillion reasons I don’t write here.
1. Laziness
2. Lack of discipline
3. Nothing to say.
That’s not a jillion but it’s three. I have three reasons not to write and I had two reasons to write. (1. Me, 2. You) Maybe you and me are the only reasons to write here. The reader and the writer. Yin and yang. The pendulum swings.

I’m not writing anywhere else. Not in notebooks. Not at 750 words. Not at the new old Open Diary. My writing groups are stagnant too - or my relationship to them. I went to a lot of effort to buy a Thoughts of Dog calendar book and I have put only tiny bits of things in it - nothing for the last few months and it started in September… so. Anyway that’s typical.

My life is ok. Not bad. I am free to do what I want to do.

I’m not terribly happy with the way my life is going though. I feel no desire to tell you stuff. I don’t want to write about the way things are falling apart.

The good parts seem mundane. They are things I’ve told you about already.

There was a guy in OD who gave relationship advice. I forget his name and he wasn’t part of OUR circle. I tried to communicate with him unsuccessfully but I read him for a while. I remember him answering someone who said - WHAT CAN I WRITE ABOUT? - by telling the person to pick out a small incident in their day/life/whatever and just write the hell out of it. I thought that was good advice. Write about the book you’re reading. Write about the meal you cooked. Write about what you’re wearing. Write about a pang of emotion that struck you unexpectedly. Write about your dog or your cats or you kids or your husband.

Obey great Nike - JUST DO IT.

I believe that. I just DO(n’t).

One semi-positive thing in my life is the new clip on lamp I bought to attach to my bed’s headboard. I hadn’t had a functioning light in my bedroom for a long time. Gracie pulled down the pull cord from the ceiling light and it could not be easily fixed because it had broken off inside the fixture. So anyway I got a lamp and had to buy the bulb separately - drat! - and now I can read in bed… 24 hours a day. I don’t read in bed 24 hours a day but I can read at any time in the 24 hours each day has. So....

I’ve been reading real books. Cover to cover. Mainly three -
1. Jane Austin’s Pride and Punishment . I know I told you already but it was such an accomplishment that I am telling you again.
2. Somerset Maugham’s Cakes and Ale, sort of autobiographical tale of writers and their lives. English of course. I have a soft spot for Maugham.
3. Mrs. Harris, the tale of the murder of Herman Tarnower, the Scarsdale Diet, by his unhappily discarded mistress. Diana Trilling wrote it and it’s mainly a courtroom drama but/still/in particular I’m enjoying it. Almost done. I watched two you tubes.

Not sure either of them did me any good.
The first is Jean Harris with a young Jane Pauley.
The second is the author with William Buckley.
Neither is particularly cheery.

Apologies for the pictures. What they have going for themselves is that they were easy to find.

Happy Sunday.
Pet the dog.
Eat a Cliff bar.
Watch a Perry Mason rerun.
Grab life gently by the horns and subdue it.
Don’t shoot anyone.


Last updated October 27, 2019


Beret October 27, 2019

I think you have stuff to say and write about. You just think you don't. But you do.

Deleted user October 27, 2019

I always like reading your writing about whatever is on your mind. Because you are a thinker and a good writer!

Just Annie October 27, 2019

I love reading your entries and hope you find your way back to writing often.

Serin October 27, 2019

I would not be unhappy to have more of your thoughts to read. But I know that sometimes writing just isn't the thing. (I';m there right now, a bunch of things to write about and no interest at all)

Marg October 28, 2019

That last pic is very evocative. Have you stopped going to your writing groups?

Purple Dawn October 28, 2019

There is a lot going on for you with just worrying about family with medical issues. It has to be depressing and worrying. Give yourself a break, we're our own worst critics as they say. I hope something catches your fancy and you have more positives to focus on soon.

Satine October 28, 2019

Hi! I love the last part - always good advice :)
Actually all of this is good advice.

xx

NorthernSeeker October 28, 2019

It seems easy to buy a Thoughts of Dog calendar but not so easy to write on it consistently if you don't feel like it. I don't like William Buckley...pompous know-it-all. On the other hand I like the misty pastel rain/fog morning scenes. They are beautiful....a gentle invitation into the day. Gracie wants to know why you don't pet the Cliff Bar and then feed it to her.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 28, 2019

Buckley was milder to Diana Trilling. I think maybe he respected her.
Funny how little respect there is in life. It goes neither way too much of the time.
Trilling didn't like Tarnower. It was hard to know why women fought for his attention. Perhaps because he was hard to satisfy. I want him so you can't have him. I can be good enough for him and you my dear are definitely NOT. A letter Harris write just prior to the 'tragic accident' is read during her trial and is devastating because it proves she is not a lady, she says nasty stuff about her rival. Why I get into these things I do not know. Escape? My escape, for sure.

Jinn October 29, 2019

I find it hard to write consistently too . Every day I remind myself I should make more effort to write , but I do not get around to it :-) It feels like my life is pretty boring to be recorded :-) I think I like that guy’s advice to write even about the small things. I know I like reading about other people’s “ small things” :-) and the big ones too . :-)
I love Jane Austen . I have been thinking about retreading her books but I always have so many new ones to read !

noko October 29, 2019

Being able to read books cover to cover in bed seems so useful and good.

gattaca October 31, 2019

I feel less inclined to write. Is this a natural 'evolution' of perception as we get older?

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ October 31, 2019

I think it's a whole bunch of things. Our age and the internet's age both. This was more fun at the beginning. We felt the power of seeing words on a screen and knowing people around the world were reading them. Plus there were more people reading them. I had what I thought were hundreds of people reading me on OD. I felt the need to keep punching out product to please them. The magic of taking a photo and having it on the internet was a pleasure that has turned sour since my camera doesn't work very well and since photobucket got so stinky. I had thought I was SAVING pictures - though I suppose that was asking a lot of institutions I did not want to pay.

Now there. I wrote a bunch of semi-ok stuff. To very little purpose. But you're my friend and just wanted to talk to you a bit.

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ October 31, 2019

I think it's a whole bunch of things. Our age and the internet's age both. This was more fun at the beginning. We felt the power of seeing words on a screen and knowing people around the world were reading them. Plus there were more people reading them. I had what I thought were hundreds of people reading me on OD. I felt the need to keep punching out product to please them. The magic of taking a photo and having it on the internet was a pleasure that has turned sour since my camera doesn't work very well and since photobucket got so stinky. I had thought I was SAVING pictures - though I suppose that was asking a lot of institutions I did not want to pay.

Now there. I wrote a bunch of semi-ok stuff. To very little purpose. But you're my friend and just wanted to talk to you a bit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.