October 24, 2019- Turkey Meatloaf in Productivity diary plus recipes

Revised: 10/24/2019 11:12 p.m.

  • Oct. 23, 2019, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Starting balance: 15.84 hours

List of work:
-Catch up on grading
-Lecture slides
-Lecture notes
-Write quiz questions
-Write essay prompt
-Other work

12:14 AM 5 minutes lecture slides + 5 mins

So freaking tired. Oh the headache. But I have to plow ahead. Only a few weeks left. Plow ahead please.

30 mins
12 mins

Current balance: 14.97 hours

8:08 PM 5 minutes catching up on grading + 3mins
8:18 PM 5 minutes lecture slides + 2 mins
8:27 PM 5 minutes lecture notes + 4 minutes

11 mins

11:31 PM 5 minutes writing quiz questions + 9 mins

Ending balance: 14.15 hours

Today I was thinking about how much of a wimp I was: literally all I’ve got left is to write those personal statements, which are supposed to talk about how much of a mature person I am anyway. And I’m slightly (humorously) mad because it’s not considered professional to discuss romantic relationships in these kind of personal statements (“personal” though it is), but my most major growth experience in my 20s so far has been … kinda related to that. You know, I’m definitely approaching some kind of “3 years anniversary” of the first time I was able to message you . It is recorded that my first review for you was published on October 29th, 2016. Even without that, I also distinctly remember that it was shortly before daylight saving time in 2016. On that one fine morning, I was looking at Andrew and contemplating what you had said to me earlier, and then he said something I’ll never forget. He said: “I woke up before my alarm today,”– and THAT was the first time it ever occurred to me that you could get jet-lagged from daylight saving time (our interactions were oh so meaningful, see?)

Where I’m from, we don’t have daylight saving time, but at that point I had been in the states 5 years already. I don’t know where I’ll be in the future: I’ll just go forward and shoot for America, but Australia and Japan are decent backup plans and they’re closer to home too (so why am I here in the first place?). I used to be upset about having this nomad lifestyle (I just wanted to settle down and fit in), but the past year I’ve been at peace with it (I’m never overstating the difference you made in my life). I really don’t know what I should do … things just happen. Things were picking up this past year for me, and I was happy not obsessing over any guy (although occasionally haunted by the humiliation, but it was still so worth it). I thought I was enjoying research, and I could stick out to the end of the phd program, and that it happened one evening that a car turned left right at me walking.

Okay I’m not telling that story anymore because it’s like a self-pitying story. The point was just that began to think that since I kept encountering “obstacles” and “disruptions” while I was on this path, maybe it was a sign that I shouldn’t be on this path. Okay I give up; this is a really boring story to tell. Let me sidetrack to talking about you, and how you told me once that “nothing is too small.” I really like it now that you didn’t put a limit on what could be discussed, yet you’ve never blown things out of proportion (does that even make sense?); like, this is a small thing, so let’s treat it as it is, neither seeing it as non-existent nor exaggerating it.

Well, I love you, and I’m sorry there’s not an appropriate expression, but I used to be in so much pain and now I’m not and I’m learning to love reality and accept it.

https://www.theseasonedmom.com/turkey-meatloaf/

Turkey Meatloaf

This moist and healthy Turkey Meatloaf is an easy dinner that the whole family will love! Made with Stovetop stuffing, the recipe is packed full of flavor!
Course Dinner
Cuisine American
Keyword ground turkey recipe, turkey meatloaf, turkey meatloaf recipe
Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 1 hour 5 minutes
Cooling Time for Onions 10 minutes
Total Time 1 hour 30 minutes
Servings 6 – 8 people
Calories 230.8 kcal
Author Blair
Ingredients

1 large sweet onion, finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon pepper
½ teaspoon fresh thyme leaves (or ¼ teaspoon dried thyme)
3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1/3 cup chicken broth
1 teaspoon tomato paste
2 ½ lbs. ground turkey breast
¾ cup dry Stovetop stuffing mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup ketchup

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment or spray with cooking spray.
In a medium skillet over medium-low heat, cook the onions, olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme until translucent (about 10 minutes). Add Worcestershire sauce, chicken broth, and tomato paste. Mix well, and cool to room temperature.
In a large bowl, gently combine ground turkey, dry stuffing mix, eggs and onion mixture. Shape into a rectangular loaf on prepared baking sheet. Spread ketchup over top.

Bake for 60-70 minutes, or until the internal temperature of the meatloaf reaches 160 degrees. Tip: to prevent the top from cracking, place a pan of hot water in the oven under the meatloaf.
Slice and serve!

Recipe Notes

Since this recipe only calls for 1 teaspoon of tomato paste, look for a tube of the paste (rather than a can), so that you can easily save the extra tomato paste in your refrigerator for another use.
I use turkey flavored Stovetop Stuffing, but you can substitute with any flavor that you prefer. Remember — you do NOT need to prepare the stuffing as directed on the package. You are only using the dry mix as a more flavorful swap for breadcrumbs.
Line your baking sheet with parchment paper so that it’s easy to remove your meatloaf from the pan.
Try this same recipe but swap out the turkey breast for extra lean ground beef. It will still be healthy, but it will have the traditional meatloaf flavor.
Place a pan of water under the meatloaf in the oven to prevent the meatloaf from cracking on top.
Prep Ahead! You can assemble the meatloaf in advance and keep it covered in the refrigerator overnight. Before baking, allow the meatloaf to sit on the counter at room temperature for at least 1 hour.
Can you freeze turkey meatloaf? Yes! You can freeze the meatloaf before or after cooking! Wrap cooked meatloaf tightly and store in the freezer for up to 3 months. Wrapped properly, the cooked meatloaf will stay fresh in the refrigerator for at least 2-3 days.
How to reheat turkey meatloaf: Thaw meatloaf in the refrigerator overnight. Place individual slices on a microwave-safe plate and warm in the microwave (covered) just until heated through. To reheat meatloaf in the oven, preheat oven to 250 degrees F. Place meatloaf in a dish and cover with foil. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or just until heated through.
Have leftovers? A cold meatloaf sandwich is delicious!
Turn this recipe into Turkey Meatloaf Muffins! Simply divide the turkey mixture evenly among muffin cups in a standard size muffin tin. Bake at 400 degrees F for 20-25 minutes, or until meatloaf muffins reach an internal temperature of 160 degrees F.
Recipe adapted from The Barefoot Contessa

Last updated October 27, 2019


Deleted user October 26, 2019 (edited October 26, 2019)

Edited

Have there ever been an official rule to not discuss romantic relationships in professional school admission essay? it might as well make yours one of the unique essays out there. good luck! "i love you" shouldn't be an inappropriate expression if nothing is blown out of proportion and nothing is too small to talk about.

your story is not boring no matter what directions it goes! car accidents and and relationship losses (am i making a wrong assumption?) can surely turn lives upside downs. but what do these obstacles speak to the passion you have chosen to follow with your phd in the first place?

dancingstrawberry Deleted user ⋅ November 10, 2019

Thank you for commenting on my post and thank you for the kind wishes!!! About how the car accidents and relationship losses speak to my passion with my PhD in the first place ... man that is a good question :D. I guess it is only obvious in my own mind. It is a rather long, long story with too many details and connections that don't make sense XD. But I'm sure in your life or anyone's life there are elements that appear like that oo.

Jinn October 26, 2019

Learning to love reality and accepting it are huge accomplishments . Not being in pain is major as well.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.