I've made it to Beijing! in Adventures in paradise

  • Oct. 24, 2019, 1:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m in Beijing!

Of course it wasn’t without a few unknown things thrown my way, such as needing to provide all my fingerprints before and at immigration. The taxi in took about 40 minutes, then an hour in immigration, then an automated people-mover to another terminal lol, geesh. Then the taxi system was weird too, prepaid and I had to wonder if I was potentially being scammed but it looked legit, then a lady was running back and forth to collect the foreigners and usher them a taxi each, handing the forms over which I then had to sign in the taxi and got a carbon copy of. From what I could figure out, the driver gets paid once the fare is completed. I also had to hand over another Y$10 for the toll in the cab, which thankfully the driver knew the English words to, since I’d learned barely anything on that 11hr 20 min flight lol. I still only know Ne-hau haha, geesh.
So it was a bit of a worry at the airport because I couldn’t contact Ryan. I couldn’t find the damn sim that I swear I packed in my wallet, and I checked like 4 times. I’ve since found it, goddamit lol.

And my God - the taxi driver sat at 120km/hr the whole way, weaving in and out of traffic with no indicator. Hardly anyone else indicates either, I only noticed a few. They sure do use the horn though haha. I felt like I was in Final Destination, but it was all done so smoothly. I’d be a terrible driver here, getting honked at all the time, I’m sure.
Anyway, checked into the hotel around 1am-1:15am in the end, so it was a very long day after 14hrs of commuting. Ryan was starting to get worried about me. I said, “Yeah well immigration took about 2 hours, even at midnight!”
Phew, all worked out.

Internet access here is very restricted, so I’m unsure how much I’ll be able to write. This site seems to be okay but the majors are all blocked. I’ve got roaming but unsure how much I’ll use it and might just upload what I can at the hotel.

The hotel is absolutely stunning, and I’m not just saying that. I’m currently writing this laying by the pool, and had a swim in the jacuzzi which was also big enough to swim in. Also been in the sauna and steam room. It’s been a good first day for doing absolutely nothing really, since my first day here is actually really smoggy and also raining. Like, it looks like smoke outside the hotel windows (I posted on Snap, of course). Ryan says I’d need to grab a mask from the concierge to go outside today. I haven’t done so yet.
People are getting food delivered to them by the pool. Breakfast is free everyday so I made use of that this morning. Huge buffet with everything you can think of. The coffee here tastes VERY different to at home but the fresh juices are amazing.
The rooms bathroom is so high-tech, from a heated seat (why doesn’t EVERYWHERE have these!? - sooo good) to a bidet with different settings and pulsating settings. You actually want to go to the bathroom haha.

I have a trip to the Great Wall and Forbidden City semi-planned so that’ll be nice. Ryan is explaing what I can do alone and what he can show me. It’s just far too smoggy today. Even the weather on TV has a pollution index, which is handy. It’s just been so nice to relax today instead. I only slept for about 4 hours, and didn’t at all on the plane. Just too excited I think. I didn’t bring my laptop overseas so no photo uploads til I get home.

Anyway, I’m sure I’ll check in again soon. I am on holidays after all 😊


Last updated October 25, 2019


wintergrey October 24, 2019

Have fun! 🙂

Wranglingal October 24, 2019

At least you got there safe. Enjoy your time there! Wear that mask too, heard its bad there.

TL October 24, 2019

Enjoy yourself kiddo! I'm excited to see the photos and hear about your misadventures.

DreamsofJ October 27, 2019

Yes i had so much fun in Beijing! We had to use an astril star i think it was to get on Facebook and instagram since we were blocked

crunchie October 29, 2019

Sounds like it’s going to be a great trip! Lots of photos please 😊😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.