cormac in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 22, 2019, 4:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I’m not a huge fan of Cormac McCarthy. I took this image as much for the starry background as the text. But still....

I think the only book of his I’ve read was No Country for Old Men, which I read after listening to it on tape on my Monona commute. The book had more in it than the tape had, including a different, additional ending that I enjoyed.

Here’s a NYT interview/article about the writer.

https://archive.nytimes.com/www.nytimes.com/books/98/05/17/specials/mccarthy-venom.html


Last updated October 22, 2019


noko October 22, 2019

I haven’t read anything by him. So dark I hear. The poster seems appropriate.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ October 23, 2019

Yes, he's violent and probably pointless. I wouldn't have read him except I was getting books on tape from the library to listen to in the car and they didn't have a big selection. It was a good story. And then I read the book. A sort of neer-do-well finds drug money in the desert and takes it home. Then he has both sides after him. Semi-hackneyed plot. There is an interesting bad guy and an interesting sheriff.
I saw some of the movie of All the Pretty Horses, Matt Damon and a friend get in a little trouble in TX and run away to Mexico where they get in bigger trouble. Turns out Mexico has no capital punishment so the cops just shoot prisoners themselves. Matt and friend get back to TX where they are GRATEFUL to be arrested by TX cops. I remember having more respect for Damon as an actor after seeing what he went through in that movie. Even if it was acting it looked pretty difficult to me.
Ever see Costner and Anthony Quinn and Madeleine Stowe in Revenge? Tough movie too.
Both though had poetry - seems to me.

Jinn October 23, 2019 (edited October 23, 2019)

Edited

I read The Road( wish I hadn’t ), No Country for Old Men, and All the Pretty Horses. There are times when his writing is just excellent, but his outlook so dark , I just do not want to be there in that story . That is how reading is for me , the story unfolds and I am standing there watching ;-) I did love that meme . It has some beautiful language .

Serin Jinn ⋅ October 24, 2019

I remember The Road as well written but it was a grim read.

NorthernSeeker October 24, 2019

I read No Country For Old Men after I saw the movie because I felt like maybe I'd missed something in the movie. However the movie ending was very true to the book. The author is bleak AND obscure. I'm not planning on reading any more of his books.

Neogy Titwhistle October 26, 2019

A common plot. A novel titled "A Simple Plan" had three friends find a crashed plane with bodies and a big bag of cash. I just finished Atwood's sequel to The Handmaids Tale. Her "Oryxx and Crake" trilogy is pretty decent.

woman in the moon Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ October 26, 2019

The Heart Goes Last is the story about the people who spend half their time as prisoners and half as guards. I really need to see how it ends. Maybe wiki will tell me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.