Tucked in Bed... in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 20, 2019, 10:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gotta get up by 4am to prep for my 6:45am flight to the furniture show tomorrow. Packing for this meant that I’m partially packed for the Grand Canyon Birthday Adventure on Friday. Now all I gotta do is make it through two days of running around and meetings and two more days of follow up in my office.

Just sent an email to the colleague I’ll be meeting out there. The next two days are going to be a scramble as I’ve squeezed my days so full I haven’t even planned time for lunches, so snacks are packed in my luggage. Neat, huh?

Birthday celebration with Mom, Dad, Baby Niece, SIL and Bro was lovely if not a tiny bit emotional for me. My parents got me two little angel figurines to symbolize the angels watching over me this year. And I watched as my mom and dad struggled to get around and make their way up to and through the restaurant. I KNOW that they are just older people now, but it doesn’t make it easier to watch them struggle. Dad (remember, he’s having a hard time accepting that he’s diabetic) was doing okay with the double vision, but I could tell that he wasn’t too happy eating “healthy”. He got a salad with salmon and that made me smile inside, but I feel like it didn’t make him very pleased and satisfied. It hurts me to think that he’s maybe feeling like, what good is life if you can’t really ENJOY all the stuff you love?

To add to my melancholy, I listened to this podcast today that was about a young woman who donated her kidney to her ailing father and it allowed him two good years of dialysis-free life before her kidney failed inside his body. She blamed herself for his death. Ugh. It was heartbreaking.

Anyway. Enough of that sad stuff.

The weekend was beautiful weather-wise until this evening when tornados ripped through the city. Kind of a fitting way to bring in the new week because it feels like the whole week is going to be nothing but one big whirlwind.

Ok. Now, sleep.

Love and pre-birthday kisses,
GS


Gangleri October 20, 2019

Man. That’s a heavy thing to take upon yourself. I wonder why she did.

Marg Gangleri ⋅ October 21, 2019

To give her dad a couple more years of decent life?

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ October 21, 2019

Absolutely! This woman gave her dad the most amazing gift...but it was a heavy weight for her to bear afterwards. What an amazing thing!

Gangleri Ginger Snap ⋅ October 21, 2019

I meant the guilt aspect. I get doing it in the first place.

Marg Gangleri ⋅ October 21, 2019

Apologies - my reply was a bit snippy there! I realise what you meant now :)

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ October 21, 2019

Yeah, the guilt thing I could understand because I heard the podcast. She said it was because she gave such a weighty gift - the kidney had been part of her and the kidney ultimately failed. She felt guilty for that.

Jinn October 21, 2019

Happy early Birthday !

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ October 21, 2019

Thank you! I love that I've already started celebrating!

Marg October 21, 2019

It’s really hard watching your parents getting older especially if they face health challenges which require changes to much-loved lifestyles!

plushcreep October 21, 2019

My family friends lost a fence and a shed and suffered roof damage. I suppose under the circumstances things could have been a lot worse.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ October 21, 2019

Doctor D lost a tree and a fence as well. Maybe I'll write about that in a bit!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.