The Body Knows in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 20, 2019, 11:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The city of Portland is in a valley and as you can imagine our weather is influenced by that. After a morning of light rain and moderate winds the clouds all moved back to the edge of said valley and we had a couple of hours of gorgeous glorious sun. The red tree on the right is the one I am trying to identify. The leaves have three lobes instead of the normal maple five but it is clearly some form of maple.

Mrs. Sherlock and I hemmed and hawed about hiking in the rain yesterday morning and in the end, because she knows she is seeing me today, she decided to stay home and take care of housework. I am meeting her at church later and then going over for lunch and a movie. Their friend, who is still living in his car after a full compliment of chemo is now getting radiation and is coming over as well.

Kes came up Friday and we had a good visit and planned the food for our impending trip to the Oregon Coast. I truly appreciated her moral support.

I unplugged my work phone and moved the monitors back. I may need to check a few things having to do with getting paid and insurance before I give it all back on the 31st, otherwise I would just dismantle it all. I took all the reference papers down from my work area.

It is all nice and clean and pristine there now.

If you were to ask me how I am doing I would say okay…a little anxious about my pension setup and all the hoops to transition my health insurance and bus pass and all…

But if you were to ask my body???

Yesterday morning I was spontaneously singing and dancing around the kitchen. :)
The body knows.

It knew I needed to override my stubborn determination to stick it out at work until the bitter end. Even my doctor was happy for me.

I will figure out and adapt to what comes next.

But for now I love how if I have a chore to do I can just do it. I don’t need to plan it into this crazy 42-hour workweek plus teaching schedule and I don’t have to multitask.

And although I have still not been to the gym I have been getting my cardio in each day at home or out and about. Like yesterday afternoon spontaneously going for a walk because there was clearing and visiting “my” mystery tree, which is a block away from where “my” garden plot will be in the community garden.

Even though it has been raining for a few days it looks like we are going to have below average rainfall this month. It is not supposed to rain at all while we are at the beach. But it will be cold. Oh the views from our nice cozy beach house…!

That view is something sweet to look forward to as I navigate this week ahead.

This is funny, if you remember awhile back I bought this fabulous kitchen garbage can from Simple Human that you don’t have to bend over to put stuff in (I’ll be able to start composting in the spring) and it takes special bags. You can use regular bags but the special ones are sturdy and nice. The newer model cans have voice activated lids now…shakes her head…

Because I am planning soon to start going on an organizational purge, a couple of weeks ago I bought a big box (a year’s worth) of bags.

(I hate using plastic trash bags and didn’t for years and years but the garbage guys said they needed the cat litter bagged up as a health thing for them so I gave in… I used recycled newspaper litter as it is… we do what we can.)

So I am ready. Organization and purge here I come. A little at a time.


Last updated October 20, 2019


mcbee October 20, 2019

I can see that great big weight is off your shoulder and yes, it should feel so good.

Marg October 20, 2019

Lol I’m laughing at the thought of someone standing arguing with a bin lid - because you just know one day it’s going to refuse to open no matter how nicely you ask ...... :)
Love the image of you dancing round the kitchen with joy - didn’t think I’d be reading that for a while yet!

Jinn October 20, 2019

I am so happy for you !
I can not imagine living in my car , let alone go through chemo while doing it . :-( That is tragic .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.