All You Can Eat Catfish & Boone Pyeatt. in Gratitude Journal

  • July 20, 2013, 9:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night (Friday Night), I decided that I wanted to go and eat some catfish. It was a craving that I needed to satisfy, and I wouldn't accept "no" for an answer.

So I sent my Hubby a text message asking him if we could go to the local catfish joint and get some. Luckily, he was up for it, so as soon as he got home, we left.

Some of you might be puzzled as to why I said, "luckily." See, here's the deal: Way back when, Hubby used to help his mother and her ex-husband run their local catfish restaurant. It was a small, family-operated business that was slowly going down the tubes because it lost money consistently. (It could have had something to do with the fact that her ex-husband would give food away to his family that frequented the restaurant, but that's neither here nor there.) Long story short, Hubby busted his ass over the years, and know what tastes good and what doesn't when it comes to fried catfish.
He has yet to find one catfish place that meets his standards.

So, on occasion, I can get him to "settle" for a catfish restaurant that ALL the locals go to. It's right on the lake, too.

We fuel up, make the 15 minute drive to the catfish restaurant, where it's "all-you-can-eat", and that's precisely what we did. I mounded my plate full of fried fish, fried shrimp, peppers, cole slaw, salad, okra, chow-chow, and other various southern goodies (which are killer to the waistline but taste oh-so-heavenly!) and was about to ask our waitress to bring me a wheelbarrow to roll my fat ass up out of there.

Craving satisfied, that's for damn sure! LOL!

So we returned to our truck, miserable and waddling, regretting our idea to gorge ourselves on catfish and shrimp. We took the long way back home through the country, making wistful declarations of how we wish we owned this farm, or what we would do with that hay meadow/pasture, etc. It's a silent dream for the both of us to own a farm, or at least a house out in the country that's not too far out to cut us off from technology. One of these days, we hope to make that dream a reality. I also hope to have a flock of chickens, and maybe a few guineas. (I'd request a peacock named, "Elvis," but they're too aggressive and territorial. Nah, I'd have some docile laying hens and I'd be just as happy.

By the time we returned home, we were done for the evening. We changed into our pj's, and proceeded to sit around the living room and log onto facebook and what-not. That's when I saw a friend's status update (like she always does on Friday nights) recommending that we all tune in to listen to some country music radio show that was being DJ'ed by a friend of hers by the name of Boone Pyeatt. I decided to log on and see what the fuss was about.

I made the replied to her stating that we were listening now, and wouldn't you know, that Boone was a personal friend of hers, and was reading our posts from her fb page, and "liked" my post.

I replied, making mention that we were streaming his program from our hometown, and I'll be damned if not 15 minutes later, he gives us a "shout-out" on the air - specifically mentioning me and Hubby by our names. We were so excited.

I started screaming, "I'm famous! I'm famous!" and Hubby decided to share my exclamations with our friend and Boone via facebook. It was all so funny!

The music he was playing was kinda "meh," but it wasn't terrible. I just thought it was super-cool because I've never had anything happen like that to me before. I went to bed feeling a little elated about it. I mean, it wasn't a huge, life changing moment or anything, but it did make my evening.

Good times.


SweetMelissa July 20, 2013

It sounds like a fantastic evening. Another person I read just mentioned catfish. Everything about this entry made me happy. P.S. I was just telling my Mom I want chickens. My grandmother had chickens and she named them all movie star names. Doris Day for the yellow chicken, Lucille Ball for the red chicken

Soul Karma SweetMelissa ⋅ July 21, 2013

LOL! I think your grandmother had the right idea. I've always wanted a farm with animals who had odd or human names. My best friend had a cat named, "Larry," and I thought it was the most hilarious thing ever! It's a wonderful tradition that I'd like to adapt to my household as well!

Lyn July 21, 2013

Too fun.

May you soon have your flock of feathered friends.

Soul Karma Lyn ⋅ July 21, 2013

Thank you, dear! I hope to have my flock soon! I've just now convinced my Hubby to go along with having chickens. LOL! Took me YEARS to convince him that it would be awesome to have fresh eggs!

Deleted user July 21, 2013

That sounds awesome! Well not so much the catfish cause I'm not a seafood person but the radio dj thing sounds cool as hell! (which is an oxymoron since by all the popular accounts hell is not in fact cool at all but quite the opposite)...

Lioness July 24, 2013

we have cat fish here but it is not eaten it must be different type of fish?

Lioness Lioness ⋅ July 24, 2013

I just found this and it seems catfish came here from America in the 1800's but the problem is they eat the native fish. this is the rules around them

Catfish Laws

If a non-commercial fisher catches a catfish, the fisher must kill it immediately. The penalty for possessing live catfish for non-commercial fishers is $750. (Fisheries (Amateur Fishing) Regulations 1986)

The sale of live catfish is prohibited. Commercial fishers must kill all catfish before selling them to a licensed fish receiver. The penalty for a commercial fisher selling live catfish is a fine of up to $20,000. (Fisheries (Commercial Fishing) Regulations 2001) An authorisation is required to release any live animals or plants into any freshwater area. Failure to have an authorisation could mean a fine of up to $5000. (Conservation Act 1987)

Lioness July 24, 2013

It seems catfish was brought from USA in the 1800's and the problem is they eat the native fish so here are the rules around it.

Catfish Laws

If a non-commercial fisher catches a catfish, the fisher must kill it immediately. The penalty for possessing live catfish for non-commercial fishers is $750. (Fisheries (Amateur Fishing) Regulations 1986)

The sale of live catfish is prohibited. Commercial fishers must kill all catfish before selling them to a licensed fish receiver. The penalty for a commercial fisher selling live catfish is a fine of up to $20,000. (Fisheries (Commercial Fishing) Regulations 2001) An authorisation is required to release any live animals or plants into any freshwater area. Failure to have an authorisation could mean a fine of up to $5000. (Conservation Act 1987)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.