Past My Bedtime in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 16, 2019, 10:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…and not really for fun reasons at that!

It’s been a busy, busy, BUSY day! In fact, I think today’s been the busiest since my injury and I’m still feeling pretty darn good. That’s quite exciting to me.

This morning I had to prep for a hard meeting with Boss and then lunch with my financial advisor. I was pretty hard on him early on, and I asked him to remain focused on ME (he’d started talking about himself and his kids and I was like…that’s not what this meeting is about, sir). We had a lot of discussion around my will, living will, power of attorney, health care surrogate, etc. These things are huge and are a lot to think about, so that left me a little dazed after lunch. Much more on that in entries to come.

I’ve been thinking about death a lot lately. Of course, my carotid situation has brought that about, but my parents are making me really think about the end of life as well. I am once again too tired to really get into it, but there’s so much to expound upon. I think these conversations with my financial advisor are going to help me broach the subject a little easier with my parents. I’m going to see them this weekend as both my mom and I will celebrate our birthdays together (another year older for both of us). We have much to gently discuss.

And then home to grab a quick bite and then run to go boot shopping for the Grand Canyon (needed some good hiking/walking boots for the rugged terrain). Unfortunately, when I got to the underground parking in my building, I discovered that someone had parked their motorcycle in my spot! Grrrr. This meant that I’d need to find street parking later, so I put a note on the cycle and took the dog shopping with me.

Found some good, sturdy (and kinda cute!) boots and noticed that NORT (my neighbor) had sent me a text about noticing a “motorbike” in my spot! I told him I was totally annoyed and then he wrote back telling me that he was going out of town until Friday and that I could have his spot until then. Don’t you just LOVE when things just work out? Again…could it be that something is watching over me and bringing me good neighbors, friends and angels just exactly when I need them? I honestly think maybe so. And I know that this is not a big thing, but in the grand scheme of things it feels like it IS to me. It’s just the fact that these tiny, tiny opportunities keep opening up. It feels like these opportunities are messages to me, telling me not to give up on things because goodness is right around every corner.

I KNOW I sound corny, but I do love this feeling. Let me have it, please! :)

Okay, I gotta go. It’s now WELL past my bedtime and it’s gonna be a day of doctors tomorrow. First, vaccines for my dog and then a doc appointment for me (and a flu vaccine as well!). So. I must sleep now and remember to drink lots and lots and lots of water so that they can get the blood out of my veins tomorrow!

Magically,
GS

P.S. Nothing from the Big Wild Rancher today. Good!

P.P.S. Oh! Remind me to write about “transference” sometime soon!


Marg October 17, 2019

I totally get that feeling you describe - I’ve been having it a lot myself lately - just a bunch of little things working out that make you go “Hmm” and give up a silent thanks when nobody’s looking!

Parliament October 17, 2019

You talk about your parents like they're at death's door! I'm not sure how old they are, but people are living much, much longer these days.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ October 17, 2019

There's something very wrong with my dad. He's had double vision for a month now. He's not just tired every day...he is EXHAUSTED. Last weekend he looked 10 years older than he is. Nobody knows what's going on with him, but he's not well and I have a high level of concern because I've never seen him like this before.

My mom? Well...she's another story!

Jinn October 17, 2019

I do not want to talk to my Father about death , although I should. I know he wants to live as long as he is healthy ; and for now he is amazingly so for his age. After his death his main concerns have been for my brothers when he talks about it , so I am leaving it to him to figure everything out .
As for me , we have wills. If they change the law in this state ( and I hope they do ) I want to get a provision for Doctor assisted euthanasia if I would become terminally ill. No way I want to ever be bed bound and helpless , or stuck in a nursing home. Frank’s Mom is like that now. She does not know any of us and she is wasting away in pain. It’s cruel and a nightmare to watch. I have to make myself go there . :-(

Gangleri October 17, 2019

I need to make a will. It's getting to be about that time with a hole and living creature depending on me and such.

plushcreep October 18, 2019

I would love to hear you ruminate more on death. It takes up a lot of my thoughts, too. Probably unhealthily so.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.