Have I found a home? in New Beginnings

  • March 8, 2014, 8:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm in the process of making an offer on a house. Specifically, this house. ). I found the house's online listing Thursday night. It had just been posted. I moved quickly to set up a visit with my realtor because houses seem to be selling fast, real fast. I've seen some listings' statuses go from active to pending approval within a week. He called me back immediately and set up the visit for this morning.

It's one of the few houses that matched up with what its listing suggested. Actually, I think it's the only one that did that. I have a few concerns. Namely, it has wood siding, so that's going to have to painted immediately. Doing so will add a few grand to the purchase price. Also, it looks like they're taking the washer & dryer, so that add another couple of grand. Then, of course, there could be any number of other things that need attention: the roof, the water heater, the septic tank, but I'm being cynical. Everything I saw looked great. It's within 20 minutes of my office. The back yard isn't private, but it's fenced. I'm thinking about planting some Cyprus trees or Nellie Stevens Holly trees around the back yard's perimeter. I could do so in a weekend, and it would only cost me another few thousand dollars. Basically, I'm offering about $10k less than the asking price because of everything I will have to and want to do. I hope it doesn't insult them. Also, my realtor sent me a more detailed profile of the house, and the market value was estimated at $155k, so I don't think I can be faulted.

I'm nervous about how my Dad will take my buying a house. My dad's dream is for me to move back to Eastman and live with him for the rest of his life (or perhaps the rest of mine). Buying a house will indicate to him that I'm setting my stakes down up here, but I think doing so is the wise thing to do for the following reasons:

  1. I'll probably be here for another five to ten years, so it doesn't make much sense to keep throwing money away on rent.
  2. If something happens to him and he needs to be taken care of, I can't just quit my job and move down to be with him. It would make more sense to have him stay with me temporarily until I can relocate, if relocating is even a possibility.
  3. If someting really tragic happens, and he gets called home to heaven (well, going to heaven would be good for him, just tragic for me...and God), I want to be able to take in his three kitties.
  4. I'll also be 32 years old soon. I really want to be doing the kinds of things other 30 somethings are doing.

My landlord/housemate will also be none to happy about my leaving, but he graduates in summer, so he'll start working again about the time I move out. Also, he still has Kim renting a room. Furthermore, he mentioned to me that he got unemployment, so now I really don't feel like I'm putting him out.

I'm getting ahead of myself. I suppose I'll know soon enough if I'm a homeowner.


Ditch Witch March 08, 2014

very neat house! I am amazed at how cheap that house is! In my area that house would be 2x that amount. I hope you get it..its gorgeous!!!

Star Maiden March 16, 2014

Nice place! You can get a W&D rather cheap too if you don't mind used. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.