they served me well in 2019

Revised: 10/15/2019 2 p.m.

  • Oct. 14, 2019, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

October 14, 2019
12:55pm

I have been wanting to write for so long, but as per usual I cannot seem to get my thoughts straight. There has been so much going on. So many things I would like to save for the future, especially in regards to the boyfriend situation.

Life has just been so different for me lately. In ways that I never would have imagined. I am going to try my best to put some kind of update together right now and see how it goes. I have to type this into a draft in gmail because for whatever reason my work computer won’t properly load prosebox. I’m way too scared to type up a whole thing and then have it disappear. That is never a good feeling. Hopefully this’ll work better and I can transfer it later on my phone. I’m not trying to type this up on there. It would take me like ten years!

So, first a health update: I did end up having my tonsillectomy done on the 27th of September. It was my first major surgery and I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I would be. The surgery center was great. Very professional and polite staff. I’ve learned to forewarn everyone about my high BP so they won’t freak out and that seems to make things easier. I had to be there at 7:30 in the morning [it’s about an hour from where I live] and the night before EC and the neighbours [mostly EC] put a dinner together for me as my final meal for a while. EC had picked me up that afternoon to drive out to the main office with him and after we got back we pulled into the driveway and got super distracted in the truck and the time just flew by way too quickly. Oops! So that lead to a late start to the bbq and it was dark by the time he finished. Food was great though! He’d gotten these bacon wrapped hot dogs from a butcher I accidentally introduced him to and they were amazing! But by the time we ate I’d already overindulged in my favorite chips and it was getting closer to my midnight cut off time so I didn’t eat that much. I think I’d started getting nervous too so my appetite had disappeared. Poor guy I think got a little offended I didn’t eat much food after his hard work.

But anyway, I went in the following morning and sat around waiting for the doc while they stuck an IV in my arm and had me put on that ridiculous gown. There was a little bit of confusion because when I’d gone in for my pre-op appointment on Tuesday I pointed out to the doc that my infection was coming back and I wasn’t sure if they could perform surgery. He originally suggested I go on antibiotics and come back in a week to see if it cleared, but after my sad disappointed reaction we both decided that I could show up Friday morning and if it was good we’d proceed as scheduled and if not we’d both go home early. The swelling and stuff had gone down by that morning but it was still present enough to where I wasn’t sure surgery could be done. I even mentioned it to the nurse before she put an IV in me but she said it looked ok. When the doc finally came in I was happy to hear him say he thought it could be done. He did warn me there would be more of a risk, especially of complications with bleeding, but he felt confident he could do it so I said I was willing to risk it. There was no way I was going home to start the process over again!

So they took me back, talked to me about what TV shows I was going to catch up on, and next thing I knew I was back in a little post-op area and the nurse was going to get my mom. Apparently it took all of like 45 minutes and I felt completely fine afterwards. Good enough to choose a popsicle over a glass of water within about 5 minutes of getting out of surgery. hah.

Honestly, I have to admit that the horror stories I’d been told prior to surgery were all TRUE. I was good the first day and felt pretty great the next day too [but that might have had something to do with EC spending the entire day relaxing with me] but by Sunday it hit me hard. I was starving and the lack of sleep was starting to hit because I couldn’t lay flat and breathe at the same time. I was grumpy and frustrated and it sucked. It took the entire 10 days and just about the full 2 weeks before I started to feel normal again. What a difference eating real food will make! I’m still sore, I still have some scabbing, and food still gets a funky taste, but overall I’m much better. I have confirmed that I am certainly not built for liquid diets or being forced to stay at home.

If I’m lucky I won’t have to ever go through anything like that again! 🤞


Well I still have an update on the boyfriend but it’s Tuesday now and who knows when I’ll get done. I’d rather post this and start another draft. It’s not like it all has to fit in to one entry anyway.

rose.


Last updated October 15, 2019


justBob October 16, 2019

Glad the surgery went well and hope you're feeling completely better soon!

+.:hidden-feelings:. justBob ⋅ January 11, 2020

Bob? Is that you?? 🤨

justBob +.:hidden-feelings:. ⋅ January 12, 2020

Yes, it is me! 😁

+.:hidden-feelings:. justBob ⋅ January 13, 2020

Hey!!! I thought the name and icon looked familiar but I was afraid to ask. Haha. How’ve you been?

+.:hidden-feelings:. justBob ⋅ January 13, 2020

Hey!!! I thought the name and icon looked familiar but I was afraid to ask. Haha. How’ve you been?

justBob +.:hidden-feelings:. ⋅ January 17, 2020

I've been pretty good! Trying to write more but not being very successful. Sounds like you're doing well?

+.:hidden-feelings:. justBob ⋅ May 20, 2020

I hear ya on that one! I haven't been very successful at writing or replying to notes. Sorry about that. Hope things are still going well, even with all this craziness in the world these days!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.