MY FRIEND in Postcards 4

  • Oct. 15, 2019, 11:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

<center></center>
My friend Dixie Anna.

There are those unexpected calls
so rational sounding, such a nice voice
in my ear, jolting me upright.
She fell, moving pictures around.

Who am I to write her obit,
younger than me. She caretook
her Ken until he died, now
she is near death herself.

Sometimes a broken pelvis will
Break more than bones,
Will dent and dement a wider
circle. Already my heart breaks.


Last updated October 15, 2019


GypsyWynd October 15, 2019

I'm so sorry.

Marg October 15, 2019

I’m so sorry - and you expressed the pain so well.

Hillbilly Princess October 15, 2019

So sorry.

Jinn October 16, 2019

Wow, I broke my pelvis but it healed. I guess I was very fortunate . I am so sorry about your friend.

aunty EM October 16, 2019

Big hugs, my friend.

gattaca October 16, 2019

My mom broke her hip and later, her arm (humerus). I fear falls now. I grieve for your friend Dixie.

Zipster October 16, 2019

That is a beautifully painful poem. I am sorry for your loss.

Oswego October 16, 2019

So very sorry about the loss of your dear friend.

MageB Oswego ⋅ October 17, 2019

Her dementia was terrible, yet she remembered me.

NorthernSeeker October 17, 2019

Your sentiments are expressed very well through this poem. I'm sorry you lost another friend.

Kristi1971 October 19, 2019

Oh my gosh, I am so sorry :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.