LAUGHTER in Postcards 4

  • Oct. 14, 2019, 6:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

2013

Sometimes I whine, but usually I laugh at myself. Laughter keeps those around me going too. The Lasix leads me to run for the bathroom but often I find myself leaking in the most inopportune places. Then I cough and leak more. The bed stays dry, then poof I spill a whole glass of water all over it. We wanted to change sheets anyway.

Yes we need a new mattress. We have a Beautyrest with extra padding only on one side. We used to have a fancy Beautyrest mattress with padding on both sides so it could be rotated. Not this one. This one has lasted longer than the fancy one. We rolled together in the middle of that one. This one, the edges have give out, and we could roll off very easily.

So I have been looking at new mattresses. The new ones have memory foam and latex. There’s natural latex too…just to confuse the issue. The lists of attributes is endless such as “White glove delivery.” Nowhere have I found one with padding on two sides. Many come with only one firmness option. Lots of foam options too. I did find springs mentioned in the very last one I read about.

“At 15-inches thick, the DreamCloud is made from the kind of luxury materials you’d typically find in expensive retail mattresses, yet it comes conveniently compressed in a box, at a much cheaper price. Its cooling system will keep you from over-heating while you sleep, and the 6 layers of dense memory foam and pocketed coils will provide an ideal combination of support and comfort. Finally, with a 365-night trial, you’ll have plenty of time to decide if the mattress is right for you (we’re confident you’ll love it!).
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Has to go north to work on Wednesday. Meet his replacement. Last night’s sheets are in the laundry.

  • Myself: Coughing. Swallow study scheduled. Dr Hemp wants to drain the remaining fluid. Chemo put off two weeks.

  • Photo: George.

  • Reading: ”Stewball” by Peter Bowen. These Gabriel Du Pre mysteries are really wonderful.

  • Gratitude’s: George.


Last updated October 14, 2019


Hillbilly Princess October 15, 2019

We have had cheap memory foam and more expensive memory foam. The cheaper one remembered our shape alright. There were two groves were we laid and it was so hard to get out of them.

Marg October 15, 2019

You need a degree to choose a mattress these days! Love that photo of you :)

Jinn October 15, 2019

I have a Tempurpedic adjustable bed with massage ( :-) It vibrates . I wish it had heat but overall I love it . It’s about the only bed I sleep well on because of my back . It took me a month at first to get used to it , but I love it .
It’s good to laugh :-)

Jinn October 15, 2019

I love your picture !

gattaca October 15, 2019

I hated being on Lasix when I was dealing with AFIB.
Working in the clean room at the university lab was a joke. By the time I got suited up, it was practically time to get out of the bunny suit to run to the bathroom again!

aunty EM October 15, 2019

I have similar moments too...without the aid of Lasix... Another one of those fun (not) things about getting old...

NorthernSeeker October 15, 2019

Mattresses are a big $$ purchase. It is an undertaking to chose one. Reading your description on the last one makes me want to crawl back into bed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.