This Could Be The Last Time in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 9, 2019, 11:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know…I’ll be gone a long long time… Wow the Rolling Stones were young in 1965. This is the song going through my mind this week.

We just finished month end close and if things go according to plan I have six more working days in crazy town.

Oh and just in case you had your doubts, guess who bumped us out of our shared office into a cramped public cube? Mr. On the Spectrum’s sister. She has been promoted to a management position.

One of the things I needed for this transition because there are so many forms to fill out is a printer. I haven’t had a functioning one at home for about 3 years. I also want to create marketing materials for my classes as well.

So I looked in Consumer Reports, picked one that met my needs and ordered it. Kes came up Saturday to visit and to do some felting. I have a top loading washer and hers is front-loading.

She was going to walk me through the printer setup instructions.

We did get it out of the box and placed where it needed to go, Those color cartridges make it heavy! But honestly I wasn’t in the mood so I waited until Sunday to try the setup.

I was making great progress until I hit a snag. My operating systems on two of my computers were too old and not compatible so I was trying to set it up wirelessly.

The video I found on the support site was for my machine and I watched it three times and took careful notes. I tried and tried to get it setup and in the middle of that I pinged Most Honorable and he said he would call me after he and Kes went next door and played with the two new adorable kittens they have over there, Pip and Dior.

I had to put my hearing aids in to hear the phone and was pretty rattled as I expected to be but after we discussed the various limitations and peculiarities of my systems he found the video and walked me through it one more time.

I was hitting an up arrow instead of a down arrow and it took me forever to put in my passcode in that machine language sort of way but after that I was totally chuffed to have it working.

Mission accomplished. Yippee. And with a towel over it (here in the land of towels) it is yet another place for the cats to hang out.

It is cold! We had a 20 degree drop in temperature overnight. But hey, at least the sun is out, which is marvelous.

I had a good class on Monday. Small but good. The students were all so relaxed at the end they didn’t want to move. Tonight will be even smaller if I have any students at all. So many folks are traveling. I so need to get onto the marketing.

Last night I was frazzled though; shaky, anxious and rattled after a day in Toxic Land. I am admitting now how traumatized I have been by this place. It goes pretty deep.

In some ways taking the pressure off will be easy and good and fruitful but there is some deep healing that needs to go on there too. I hope I can get the support I need to do that.

Today is my ex-husband’s birthday. He is into his 70’s now. What a hoot. Like the Rolling Stones, he was so young once too. I exchanged greetings with him on Facebook.

Life is so strange…it unfolds in such mysterious ways…


Last updated October 09, 2019


Jinn October 10, 2019

It certainly does.! You will be so much better once you get out of that place !

woman in the moon October 10, 2019

Lots of people seem to be getting printers. I don't plan to. I bet I have half a dozen in various states of inoperation upstairs. Irritating thought.
Bestest wishes in all endeavors. Always.

Marg October 10, 2019

I so missed a printer when I had to leave work - I got too used to using the office one for all my personal stuff :)
My ex hit the 70 mark this year too - I often wonder what our life would have been like if we'd stayed together. Life does take some funny turns.
I wonder if that healing will happen naturally in its own time once you're away from the place? Do you think that'll be enough in itself?

edna million October 10, 2019

SIX DAYS!!!! Five days now!!! That's fantastic, and I predict the trauma will fade into the background and away quickly after you're gone.

I don't know what it is about printers, but I always have massive problems with them. Including our current home one, which I couldn't get to work wirelessly until suddenly it did, and now it's got some weird cartridge issue... I really only use it for scanning, which DOES work fine, and use my work one for anything that has to be printed. Which isn't a great option.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.