Picking up the pieces in Candy Corn on the Cob (October 2019)

  • Oct. 9, 2019, 10:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a lot of odds and ends this week. I think this is mostly because it has begun to get cold in the house (shitty insulation, very large window in my office) and I don’t want to do much. But I need to do things.

Like, I need to remake my bed, with the ugly blanket inside, because I’m definitely not sleeping on top of the bedspread anymore. Last night, I froze. Even the cats tried to snuggle under last night, and these guys are pretty much not fans of blanket on top life.

And I need to read two chapters of a book by Marianne Hirsch (it’s about postmemory.) No escaping this, it’s gotta happen by tomorrow. Right about now tomorrow. They’re printed out and mixed together on the bed, because the kids sat beside the binder they were loose in, and they fell out. Naturally.

Got a Spanish packet. Reflexive verbs are POOP. No me gusta!!!!

Had some plot insights for Nano. Instead of rescuing her brother, she’s going to be a corporate spy, there to help him develop a groundbreaking game engine - or is she? She says her brother’s a turd and maybe can’t afford to pay her what the engine would be worth, and her employer hasn’t screwed her over. But I can make some stuff change and really stick to her in the middle. I love that part. I know she and her boss are going to have a hate-lust relationship, because I find those fucking fascinating. They’re so unhealthy. But who’ll be her prince in digital armor? Who the hell knows? Not even me, I’m a plantser.

I’m thinking old boyfriend as project manager one place, hot arrogant irritating turd boss at the other. Which one will she pick? If I can make people care, it might be a fun romance. It should end up good enough for digital pub when I get a chance to whack it straight and even (first drafts are…notoriously shit. I’d never release a first draft. Too many people will do exactly that on December 1 - watch! Just finishing doesn’t mean it’s worth reading…or worth even .99!) (But if you want to read a first draft, or a draft in progress…well, I could use it. Tell me what kind of story you like, I probably have one.)

Uh. I forgot what I was whining about. Oh, yeah, shit I gotta get done.

Does “my period” count…it’s back again. I only got a week off. I am doing serious damage to the Cheeto population of the local wal-mart. You guys should come Save the Cheetos. But not Darth Cheeto, I’m looking forward to seeing him get his.

Aaah. Out of thoughts, really. About to peel my bed and remake it so I can read this shit on it. I read better without a screen nearby, because…well, screens mean interact, and they are hard to ignore when my brain is ramping up for shit. (What shit, though? midterms? this MLA paper due next Tuesday? SHIIIIIT. Nano?)

I better hopscotch that MLA paper in front of the NaNo prep. Or else. :(

I fear the whole English department at uni hates me. I don’t know if that’s normal feeling for being an English undergrad, or if it’s more normal when you’re an old undergrad, or if I’m just particularly horrible. Also, I think some girls in my Spanish class are picking on me.

Does high school never end???


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.