It's just another day. Da da da da da da...it's just another day! in Candy Corn on the Cob (October 2019)

  • Oct. 8, 2019, 6:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So sad, so sad, sometimes she feels, so sad…

Eh Sir Paul, you really have no idea. But okay. The tune’s chipper, at least.
McCartney was never my favorite Beatle, but John was kind of a weirdo and George went Buddhist or whatever, and Ringo was…well, Ringo. It’s actually hard to say which one you like best, because in the end, they were all so flawed. Then again, they never did promise they were here to be heroes. Unlike some people in my life, who have claimed that I should just “give it up” and let them “take care of it.” It would probably take a superhero to be an autism mom, if we sat there and broke down the whole shebang, and I’m quietly coming to terms with the fact that dual majors in university also seem to be mildly superhuman.

Merlin save the triple majors. Only magic will work for you sad sick fucks.

On the music and magic kick, I need to develop my NaNo plot, which means it is time for the Great October Playlist. From 500 or so tracks, I’ll make a 200 or so writing playlist, and then condense it down to a 16- to -20 track soundtrack, which I’ll never share with anyone because why. I’ve had some super good theme songs over the years. I don’t have this year’s yet. I’m looking along the lines of possession, virtual reality, and deception. “Fake Love” might do the job, but I can’t stand to listen to it as much as I might have to for the job, so it might not work. But eh. Atypical love songs. I can find a couple hundred of those in my collection.

Like this one - it’s the Chain, by Fleetwood Mac.

Last year’s Nano theme song was by Fleetwood Mac, though. It was “Everywhere.”

But the Chain won’t work. It’s too much about fleeing something, and this girlie goes head on. It’s that digital lord of the manor/Beauty and the Beast retelling thing. I know I talked about it at least once. Eh. It’s all right if you don’t remember. That’s all there is of it so far. Actually, there’s one snippet I wrote for entertainment, but I’m questioning it because it’s just not right. Of course it’s not right, honestly, though, because it’s just a little snippet, not tied to anything else. You can’t judge it much, because there’s no scale for it yet. It just feels weird. Then again, so do new shoes. You get into the habit of new shoes fast enough. By December, I’ll be familiar in this fantasy and it’ll feel fine to me.

I hope.

But first, the aural soundscape.

Sometimes the songs give me hints. Like, right now, “Center Field” is popping up a lot for me. I think it’s because our mmc (it’s a romance) will have been a sports player at some point. Like, glory days in a baseball team (second stringer is fine?) and now he’s retired (injury!) and develops hugely realistic sims (sports included.) I know the fmc’s brother will get caught somehow in something theft related (game leaks?) and that the fmc will have to take the deal of coding (I want it to be a tech job) the latest sim for this mmc to keep her brother out of prison. A lot of head-butting and one-up-man-ship later, they should come to a grudging respect and then the boning. Always the boning. What can I say, my lifestyle is bone-deprived.

But now my music player is giving me AC/DC, and no, that isn’t going to help, guys. Great for boning, though. And before you ask, yes, my period’s here again. Obviously, the amount of cramping and pain and period-arrhea back there must just get my engine going? It doesn’t make sense to ME, but it’s pretty well documented. Cramps? Blood? Horny. Sure. What. Even.

Weird Al is now telling people to stop draggin’ his car around. Nope, that’s not plot fodder either…wait…maybe. FMC could hack a system and get his car towed…that’d be hilarious. It doesn’t have to be realistic, right?

And this is how my system works. I know other writers have real systems, but I have Random and an MP3 player that’s almost as old as the twins. Look at me go.

…I meant to fall on my face. Honestly!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.