Perplexed and Annoyed in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 8, 2019, 10:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know, you guys. I’ve had the bare minimal communication with the Big Wild Rancher and he finally asked how I was doing (instead of simply talking about himself and his racing) and then mentioned getting together with me at some point. We’d talked about going to the fair together and he’s all up in arms about crowds and parking and bullshit. I told him that I’d see if I can take a half day off work so we could go on a less crowded day AND that the train can take us door to door! It literally can pick us up right outside my building’s door (I’m 50 feet from a station) and will drop us off at the very entrance of the park!

YOU GUYS. He seemed baffled at the thought of taking PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION! Like, he’s never, ever done it! He even thought I was referencing taking a bus instead of the train. He’s absolutely clueless about it.

It’s seeming more and more like he just can’t relate to us “commoners”. I should hold my judgement until I see him in action at the fair, but I’m also kind of thinking that I don’t really even want to go with him. He seems disinterested, though he seemed a little better when I told him that it was one of my favorite things and I wanted to share the experience with him.

It’s like, why waste one of my favorite things on someone who won’t appreciate it at all - and might complain the whole time!

I’m still on the fence, but leaning towards going by myself or asking someone else to go with me. He just texted me and told me that if I wanted to go before he gets back from Vegas (he’s leaving tomorrow for Vegas to…sell a racecar…surprise, surprise) that he’d understand. Clearly, he’s not excited about going with me.

That settles that.

If he wants to ask me out for a different occasion, I will let him do allll the work and see how that turns out! I bet he doesn’t even know how to make a date! I wonder if he’s ever picked up the phone and made a reservation anywhere?!

Ever flummoxed,
GS


Satine October 08, 2019

How weird!

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ October 08, 2019

Yeah. I feel like he's always had "his people" do everything for him...including wipe his butt!

Azzura October 08, 2019

The more money a guy has sometimes the more annoying he is.

Florentine October 08, 2019

It's tough with men like that who compartmentalize so well. They literally think of only the task at hand and so when he's with you, that's why he's so all in, but when he's off doing business dealings, etc, he's way more vague. I think some couples function fine with this kind of dynamic, but it does not seem like it's something you are looking for. A little more balance goes a long way!

pandora October 08, 2019

Hm, he sounds a bit too high-maintenance, but he's giving himself and you an out - I'd take it. Definitely doesn't seem like good date material for the fair in particular, but maybe he'll do better with something he suggests or is more up his alley. It would be nice if he could show signs of being more open-minded or willing to compromise at this stage of dating, though...

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ October 08, 2019

This is what I'm thinking. I'm taking the out, for sure and I'll definitely give a different kind of date a chance. I'm open. As [gypsy] points out, this is all happening via text and he's a terrible texter! I do think he likes me and wants to do something so I'll throw the ball back in his court.

kansasgirl October 08, 2019

Well, that’s disappointing. But also, so good that he’s giving you an out. It’s like, just be up front and tell me so you don’t ruin the experience for me.

Marg October 09, 2019

I'm glad you're reconsidering - I think he would have spoiled the experience! Here's hoping he can come up with something off his own bat and functions better when he's not texting :)

.allison. October 09, 2019

i'll go to the fair with you!

Gangleri October 09, 2019

Weird.

plushcreep October 10, 2019

Maybe you should have let Blondie have him after all...

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ October 10, 2019

Thinking this as well.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.