Sunday Night Live in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 6, 2019, 8:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Came on here after getting home from my folks. Was gonna write an entry, but fell dead asleep! I guess today took a toll.

The visit was actually wonderful, and I cherish my parents more and more every time I see them. I suppose it’s because I can see them going through the struggles of getting old and it makes my heart so squishy and I guess kinda raw.

Dad said he was doing well, but he’s also been trying to prove to himself that he can still “do things” when he really shouldn’t be doing them. Perfect example: when I drove up to their house, the garage door was open and there was a new dishwasher sitting there next to the car.

Dad’s big thing is to get stuff on the cheap and he’d been to town and did a wheel and deal on a new dishwasher and the place where they got it was able to stuff it into their freaking back seat, so he was apparently up at midnight trying to get that motherfucker out of the car BY HIMSELF. And he succeeded, but of course, needed help getting it into the house and hooked up and all that stuff.

Anyway, he was exhausted from doing that and he was wearing the patch on his eye which means that he was having his double vision.

He took it off when I was there and seemed to be doing okay…we went to lunch and it was a really, really nice lunch, but I could tell that his eye was bothering him a bit.

ANYWAY. The good news is that he seems to be FINE with changing his diet, so my cookies (even though I didn’t come right out and say they were “healthy”) were well received but he actually questioned, “Can I eat these on my diet?”

And that made me soooooo happy! Because, you guys, I didn’t know this but he’s been changing his eating habits for the last four days and has already lost 7 pounds!! Just by making little changes.

I told mom (when dad was out of the room) that it really hurt to hear that he said he’d rather die than go on a diabetic diet, and she said, “Oh, he said that sarcastically…he didn’t really mean that.”

I only half believe her. I only half believe my dad when he says he’s feeling okay. But what can I do? I am not going to go in there and start telling them what they should/need to be doing, you know? I mean, who am I to tell them how to live? They’ve done a LOT of living!! They’ve told me they’ve had the most amazing lives! This is just what happens when you get old.

I just wish it weren’t so painful to watch.

In other news, there really is no other news! I heard a little about the Big Wild Rancher’s racing (he was also racing today) via text, took the dog for a nice long walk, and that was all.

I really needed to do some organizing and deep cleaning around the apartment, but that didn’t happen. I am already dreading the long work week ahead. I need to figure out a wedding gift for a young couple (Matt’s daughter is getting married on Wednesday and they are having a sweet little reception at Matt & Marco’s loft on Wednesday evening). Lots to do…lots to do!

My dad told me to watch the movie

on Netflix because he said it was goofy, so I’m gonna watch it now so we’ll have more stuff to laugh about next time we’re together in a couple of weeks.

Until tomorrow my loves,
GS


Florentine October 06, 2019

What kind of cookies did you make him?

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ October 07, 2019

They are like carrot cake cookies. Recipe here: https://fitmencook.com/carrot-cake-cookies/

I used pumpkin puree in this recipe because of my love of pumpkin spice...so they taste like pumpkin spice carrot cake!

Gangleri October 06, 2019

Gotta believe him, right?

Marg October 07, 2019

Aw I'm so glad it went well! And yeah I wish there was some way we could eliminate that latter part of life pain as the body ages - it's no fun :(

Jinn October 07, 2019

That is good news about your Dad’s weight loss !

plushcreep October 10, 2019

Interestingly, I also wrote about how hard it is to watch parents age today.

Maybe your dad saying he'd rather die than switch to a diabetic diet really was sarcastic, in the same way that all those celebrities who said they'd move to Canada if Trump were ever elected are still here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.