Week 3 Post-QLD (this week just gone) in Days of My Destiny

  • March 7, 2014, 7:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the last two entries I've somehow managed to already write about parts of this week, in bits and pieces where that topic has come up.

So just a short list:

  • Monday I trained for league tag. We had to leave straight after the warm up though because poor M got something in her eye and water wasn't flushing it out. It was causing her so much pain the poor thing so I took her to the hospital. On the way there, she was crying and freaking out and she asked, "Are they going to have to take my eyeball out????" Omg, my heart just melted for her, the poor precious princess!!!!!!!!! When we got there the doctor was actually attending "a REALLY sick kid" as he said, and it turned out to be Kim's runaway son. I found out a few days later that he'd managed to stab a pole up in and through the roof of his mouth, OUUUUUUUCH and shudder. Anyway, while we were waiting, M's eye was leaking and leaking and leaking while it repaired itself. In the end the thing that was in her eye was flushed out by the eye itself, and it was a piece of grass - a FIVE MILLIIMETRE LONG piece of grass!!!! That's pretty big!!!!! Since it was out, I decided we were all good to go home, but that's not what the nurses thought. We still had to wait for the doctor so he could check for any surface damage to the eye, such as scratches, so fair enough. He flushed out her eye, then he poured an anaesthetic in her eye, which stung like mad for her. Poor thing was crying, but I was right there holding her hand and for the first time in her life I knew that my presence and talking softly to her in a situation such as this was really comforting for her. The stinging lasted about 20 seconds before it was all gone and then the doctor put an orange liquid in her eye which somehow helped him see clearer for any scratches. Her eye was fine. He then flushed her eye out AGAIN to get rid of the orange liquid. Oh my goodness I couldn't believe how much bombardment M's poor eye was getting, but at least she was all better. We didn't get home until long past 9pm and the girls weren't in bed until 10pm that night!

Tuesday I (finally) had a day at home. I can't even remember what I did, I think I tidied up a little but mostly did nothing, lol.

Wednesday I went to the local SES building to do a stocktake of all the leftover DCF souvenirs and then went to the library in the next town to try and get some college stuff done, but I already wrote about that.

On Thursday, Kim celebrated her oldest child's birthday at the local pool. I went to her house beforehand to help her take party items to the pool. I got to the pool a few minutes before she did, and I practically set everything up for her while she got her kids and the rest of the party food out of her car. She was really grateful for that, and I in turn was really grateful to her for scanning my latest assignment for me while we were at her house.

(That is a WHOLE OTHER STORY. Scanning was way expensive at the library and I mentioned this in a fb status, and then Kate offered to scan it for me at her house. What I didn't count on was that she could only scan one page as a document, which meant that I ended up with 14 separate documents to send - which is just impossible. The next morning Kim actually rang me to offer the use of HER scanner, so that's what we did! I'm STILL having trouble actually sending this stupid assignment off, due to crappy internet. Would you believe it, prosebox and other simple sites work from time to time, yet when I need to do something important, the internet shits itself. I'm so over it, but I'll get there!!!! Ahhhh.)

The party was good enough, as kids' parties go. Nothing too major for the adults, but lots of fun for the kiddies :) I took some good photos with Kim's camera for her and she was happy about that. The cake was yum. There were presents. Helen was there and she avoided me for the first while, which shows to me that she KNOWS something is up. She did it again though, she was bitching about other people's children and simultaneously telling us how good HER kids are. Now that I have identified that she does actually do this, I can take it with a grain of salt. Still, she's not pleasant to talk to when she does this. At one point all the kids were stuffing their faces with lollies and Little L was trying to talk to me with a mouthful of yellow snakes. I told her to wait till she was finished because I couldn't understand her. Helen then goes, "Are you talking with your mouth full?" in this playful childish way. Little L of course nodded her head, smiled, and opened her mouth wide for Helen to see her mouth full of lollies. Helen looked at her and said, "You're a feral." I think she intended to say this in a playful way but it certainly didn't come out as playful. I picked Little L up and said, "Nawwwww, no you're not! You're not a feral. You're my little princess, aren't you?" and walked away. Fuck that.

Friday I was on canteen. For my first time, it went well. It wasn't my first time EVER, as I did canteen a couple of years ago when M was at the other school for SmartStart, but it was still new to me in terms of knowing where everything was and what the specific procedure is at this school. It seems a little messy at this school. There's no actual till or drawer with money, it's all just in a tin box. It's no biggie but just one of many tiny little details that would actually make everything a lot easier there. Anyhow, it was fun. Busy. It felt like work. I had to make 8 sandwiches at once, 6 of those toasted, as well as 3 burgers and 2 hotdogs, lol. It really did remind me of my fish'n'chip shop days, haha. I had to manage my time effectively and I'm happy to say that I did it well! The thing is, at home I'm always getting stuff ready for my kids, but it's not at the same scale. It was nice to feel challenged like that. I overcooked the hotdogs and undercooked the pizzas. They weren't undercooked but the cheese wasn't as melted as it should be. I miscounted how many chicken munchies I was meant to cook, which meant that one kid was one less than they expected. I know that when you're a kid this is a big deal! But not detrimental, haha. All this time, Little L was being babysat by the town family day care lady, because based on last week's trial, there was no way she would've survived my day at canteen. And being my first day, there was no way I was ready to juggle parenting with focusing on cooking and keeping my child away from the hot stuff and so on. When I picked her up I knew she'd had a great time, so that's good. We went straight home and were home for about half an hour before hopping back in the car to pick M up from the bus stop. I was EXHAUSTED by the time we got back home, however the girls decided to pick on each other and dob on each other about the stupidest things all afternoon, so I got no rest or downtime. Before I knew it, it was 5pm and I had to head off to the DCF meeting. I couldn't miss it as I had to show what I've done with the program to see if the committee approves so that we can THEN send it off for printing! People looked at it and I think they liked it, but I only got overt positive feedback from one man who said to me, "You did a great job with these..... a really great job." So I'm happy with that! :) :) :) :)

It's now Saturday and my first trial league tag game is in 4 hours. Today we've just been chilling. Pancakes for breakfast and still in my PJs at midday, because I can, and because I SHOULD!!!! :D


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.